(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "The Heritage Lodge no. 730, A.F. & A.M., G.R.C. : proceedings 2006"

®tje heritage iEofrge 

A. iff. $c A. M. ®a. 730 <g.&.dL 




PROCEEDINGS 



Vol. 29 - 2006 



Jiiflttttttfb: g>rpt«nbrr 21, 1077 
OtottfltttuM*: &*frtnttber 23, 107B 

PROCEEDINGS 

Vol.29 - 2006 




VICTOR V. CORMACK, Worshipful Master 

89 Hunters Bay Dr., Huntsville, Ont. P1H 1M8 

705-789-4187 

SAMUEL FORSYTHE, Secretary 

752 Hampton Ct, Pickering, Ont. L1W 3M3 

905-831-2076 Fax 905-831-7815 

e-mail: sforsythe@sympatico.ca 

SHELDON KOFSKY, Editor 

3864 Main Street, Jordan, Ont. N4S 6L1 
905-562-8269 e-mail: mason@jmaks.ca 

THE EDITORIAL BOARD 

MICHAEL J. DIAMOND 

1037 Patricia Street, London, Ont. N6A 3V3 - 519-565-2742 

JOHN SCHAEFFER 
1250 Sunbury Rd., R.R. #2, Inverary K0H 1K0 - 613-353-6708 

GEORGE BURT 
15 Cassells Drive, R.R. #2, Beeton LOG 1A0 - 905-775-2190 



TABLE OF CONTENTS 

Subject Page 

Victor V. Cormack, Worshipful Master 203 

Annual Heritage Banquet Address - 

Ontario Parliament Buildings, 1892 To Present 

By Steve Peters, M.P.P 205 

Thirteen At Thirteen 

By John Sutherland 211 

The Knights of Malta 

By Michael S. Ikonomidis 231 

Ionic Lodge Historical Notes and Prominent Members 

By Paul Skazin 241 

Our Departed Brethren 260-262 

The Heritage Lodge Past Masters 263 

Committee Chairmen 264 

The Heritage Lodge Officers 265 



DISCLAIMER 
The contributors to these Proceedings are alone 
responsible for the opinions expressed and also 
for the accuracy of the statements made therein, 
and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of The 
Heritage Lodge A.F. & A.M., No. 730 G.R.C. 




VICTOR V. CORMACK 
Worshipful Master - 2006 

My journey through Masonry has been one of pleasure; 

in particular my time with The Heritage Lodge. 

My sincere personal thanks and appreciation to the 

Members and Officers, and especially to our Secretary, 

Very Worshipful Brother Sam Forsythe, whose guidance 

and assistance is gratefully appreciated. 

I congratulate the Officers of our Lodge and wish them 

success in the ensuing years. 

I also wish future Worshipful Masters have the same 

enjoyable experience and satisfaction in the coming 

years. 

Sincerely and fraternally, 

Victor V. Cormack, Worshipful Master 



203 



R.W.Bro. VICTOR VARCOE CORMACK 

Worshipful Master, 2006 

The Heritage Lodge No. 730 G.R.C. 

A.F. & A.M. 



Initiated, Passed and Raised in Algonguin Lodge No. 
434 G.R.C, Emsdale, Ontario, 1987 

Installed as Worshipful Master Algonguin Lodge No. 
434 G.R.C, Emsdale, Ontario, 1994 

Grand Registrar, Grand Lodge of Canada in the 
Province of Ontario, 1997-8 

Member of Building and Blood Donor Committee for 
several years 

Affiliated with Unity Lodge No. 376 G.R.C, 
Huntsville, Ontario 

Affiliated with The Heritage Lodge No. 730 G.R.C, 
Cambridge, Ontario, 1995 

Worshipful Master, The Heritage Lodge No. 730 
G.R.C, Cambridge, Ontario, 2006 

Commander in Chief of the Consistory, Barrie Valley, 
Scottish Rite, Barrie, Ontario, 2006 

Member Rameses Shrine Temple, Toronto 



204 



PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS IN ONTARIO 

1792 TO PRESENT 

By STEVE J. PETERS, M.P.P. 

Elgin-Middlesex-London 

Minister of Labour, Province of Ontario 

21 st Annual Heritage Lodge Banquet 

Scarborough Masonic Temple 

Scarborough, Ontario 



I am grateful for the privilege to speak to you at this your 21 st 
annual Heritage Lodge Banquet. 

I bring you greetings and best wishes from Premier Dalton 
McGuinty and the Province of Ontario. I have just three political 
messages to deliver before I begin: 

1. If you are an employer, please be a proponent of health and 
safety in the workplace - particularly young workers. 

2. If you are considering purchasing a new car, consider a Grand 
Marquis or a Crown Victoria. 

3. Support our farmers. Buy local, buy Ontario, buy Canadian. 

The Constitutional Act of 1 79 1 established the Provinces of 
Upper and Lower Canada. In the case of Upper Canada, the 
province was to be administered by a Lieutenant Governor, a 
Legislative Council and an elected Assembly representing Upper 
Canada's 19 counties. 

John Graves Simcoe was appointed our first Lieutenant 
Governor. His first duty was to choose a capital. His first choice 
was London but he was not supported. Most people favoured the 
site of Fort Toronto but instead he chose Newark as the political 
and administrative centre of the province. 

October 23, 2003, 1 was sworn in as a Cabinet Minister for the 
Province of Ontario. I vividly remember my first Cabinet meeting 
in Room 275 - the Executive Chamber. What struck me when I 
first entered was the large 10'x20' painting which hangs on the 
west wall. It is entitled The First Legislature of Upper Canada by 
Frederick S. Challener. 

The painting depicts the opening of the first session of the first 
Parliament held in Newark (Niagara-on-the-Lake) on September 
17, 1792. 



205 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

This painting contains the image of not only our first political 
leaders and appointed officials but some of our first Masonic 
leaders: Simcoe, Jarvis, Brant, Cartwright, Hamilton Powell and 
White to name but a few. 

The close connection between political leadership and Free 
Masonry is not just documented in the painting. 

"This lower room was in fact the only convenient place where the 
(opening) ceremony could have been performed. Fort Niagara was in 
American territory, although the British flag still flew above it; there was no 
accommodation at Butler's Barrack's (sic) ... (and) Navy Hall was in 
course of construction." 

"Major Smith will give directions to Captain Glasgow of the Royal 
Artillery to fire a Royal Salute when His Excellency Lt.-Gov. Simcoe goes 
to open the House of Assembly tomorrow morning on the 1 7 th . A subaltern 
Guard of the 5 th Regiment (is) to mount tomorrow morning at Freemason's 
Hall (sic)." (for the origins of all quoted excerpts, please see the 
Bibliography at the end of this document) 

We may never know the exact location but we all should be 
extremely proud of the role that Masons played in the founding of 
our great province. 

As early as 1793, concern was being expressed about the 
vulnerability of Newark because of its proximity to the United 
States. After a great deal of compromise and deliberation the 
decision was made to move to Toronto. Simcoe at this time 
renamed Toronto and designated the new capital as York. 

"But a stone's throw from the waters of the bay to the south, and the 
forest to the north and east, while not far to the west there stood a grove 
of fine oak trees ... The buildings faced westward and commanded a full 
view of the harbour in that direction." 

This location is Front and Parliament Streets today. 

Construction began in the summer of 1794 and it was not 
completed until 1797. The buildings were constructed of locally 
fired red brick and measured 29'x40'. 

On the morning of April 26, 1813 an American invasion fleet 
of 1 4 ships entered and anchored in the harbour. 

The Americans attacked on the 27 th and in the course of their 
efforts, the Parliament was burned to the ground. The Americans 
took from the building the Speaker's wig, the flag that flew over 
the building and the ceremonial mace (the symbol of the 
Assembly's power). 

The British retaliated and invaded Washington. As a result of 
their actions and fires, the citizens of the U.S. can credit us for the 
White House. 



206 



PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS IN ONTARIO - 1702 TO PRESENT 

The mace was returned by the Americans in 1934 and it is on 
display today at Queen's Park. The flag is still located at the U.S. 
Naval Academy in Annapolis. 

The site today is home to a car wash and auto dealership. 
During a two week period in 2000, an archaeological dig occurred 
and remains of the burned buildings were discovered. 

After much lobbying and negotiations the Province of Ontario 
on December 2 1 , 2005 acquired the site in an exchange of land 
with the current owners. The historic site will remain in public 
hands for future generations. 

The destruction left the Legislature without a home. The 
session for 1814 was opened in Jordan's York Hotel. It was the 
largest hotel in York and was situated at King and Parliament. 

In 1 8 1 5 the Legislature met in a private residence known as the 
Lawn at Wellington and York Streets. While sitting here the 
decision was made to construct a new building. 

The new Parliament building was opened in 1820 on a site 
adjacent to the old site which had been burned by the Americans. 

The Assembly met from 1 829-1 832 at the York Court House. 
While sitting here work commenced on the new Parliament 
buildings. These buildings opened in 1832 at a cost of 10,000 
pounds. 

The Union Act 1 840 joined the provinces of Upper and Lower 
Canada, now called Canada West and Canada East, into a single 
legislative entity - The Province of Canada. 

In uniting the two, the decision was made to locate the capital 
to a more central location, Kingston. 

New buildings would have to be constructed so temporary 
accommodation was secured in the Kingston Hospital. The 
Legislature met here for the first meeting of the Assembly of the 
Province of Canada on June 14, 1841. 

The choice of Kingston was not supported by all and in 1 843 
Governor General Bagot recommended relocation to Montreal. The 
move occurred and the second Parliament opened at St. Anne's 
Market in Montreal on Nov. 28, 1844. 

On April 25, 1849, Governor General Lord Elgin signed the 
Rebellion Losses Bill. This was a very contentious bill and many 
people were outraged: 

"At 8 o'clock thousands of excited Tories had assembled on the 
Champs de Mars where the Hon. George Moffatt, Col. Gugy, and others 
spoke and denounced the Governor-General for having signed the 
Rebellion Losses Bill and urged the people to petition Her Majesty to recall 
him. But 'petitioning' did not suit the temper of the people and there was 



207 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

something more sympathetic in the wild cry of 'fire, fire,' as the bells were 
heard sounding the alarm." 

The Chamber was set on fire and much of the building 
including the archives and the library was destroyed. 

Temporary accommodation was secured at Freemasons' Hall. 
Many members were concerned about the unstable political 
environment in Montreal and the decision was made to return to 
Toronto to the buildings on Front Street. 

During the absence from Toronto, the Parliament building had 
become the home of the Insane Asylum. The troubled inmates were 
removed and the politicians returned. 

The Assembly returned to Toronto in 1 856 and met here until 
1 859 while new buildings were constructed in Quebec. 

There was a great deal of debate as to where the capital would 
be located. Numerous locations were proposed. It became evident 
that a compromise had to be found. 

The Governor General proposed that Queen Victoria should 
choose. His choice was Ottawa. 

"Ottawa is the only place which will be accepted by the majority of 
Upper and Lower Canada as a fair compromise. With the exception of 
Ottawa, every one of the cities proposed is an object of jealousy to each 
of the others. Ottawa is, in fact, neither in Upper nor Lower Canada. 
Literally it is in the former; but a bridge alone divides it from the latter." 

The Assembly met in Quebec from 1 860-65. They then moved 
to Ottawa to the new parliament buildings from 1866-67. 
Confederation of July 1 , 1 867 led to the designation of Toronto as 
the Capital of the new Province of Ontario. The Ontario 
Legislature returned to the old Parliament buildings on Front 
Street. The site though was not popular and yearly operating 
expenses continued to rise. 

"The annual expenditure for keeping these buildings in even decent 
condition, is so large in proportion to their extent that I considered it proper 
to call attention ... to the necessity of constructing new buildings." 

On January 4, 1 880 Tully filed a report on the condition of the 
Parliament buildings. The report concluded: 

"That the present buildings are totally unsuited to the requirements of 
the Province, and cannot be altered to meet the accommodation which is 
now urgently needed. It is, therefore, a matter of serious and unavoidable 
consideration whether the present buildings and site should not be 
abandoned, and new buildings erected elsewhere." 

The fourth Parliament of Ontario opened . . . 

"(the House) is of the opinion that no sufficient reason exists for 
incurring at the present time the large expenditure involved in the erection 



208 



PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS IN ONTARIO - 1702 TO PRESENT 

of new Parliament and Departmental buildings, and that an opportunity 
should be afforded to the electors of pronouncing upon the question 
before the Province is committed to so large an expenditure . . ." 

Originally, $500,000 had been allocated to the new Parliament. 
Upon reviewing plans of numerous architects and tenders it was 
discovered that the estimate was not adequate. Lack of consensus 
lead to almost five years of debate. On March 1 8, 1 885 a resolution 
was debated. 

"The Government has pledged itself to proceed with the buildings, 
and they had come to the conclusion that their early construction was a 
necessity. They decided to secure the services of an architect and to have 
a new set of plans prepared. A careful deliberation as to who the architect 
should be resulted in the selection of Mr. Waite of Buffalo." 

"Mr. Fraser may rant in the House, but will even he have the 
effrontery to defend this favouritism in the use of the patronage which he 
holds as a trust, this unfair treatment of Canadian architects, this making 
a foreign rival a secret and interested judge?" 

Construction finally began in 1886. After so many years of 
delay, costs rose and the Legislature had to appropriate additional 
money. 

More than 60 men were employed on the construction site 
including 1 8 stone cutters, nine stone carvers, eight carpenters and 
23 labourers. 

Finally in 1893, Queen's Park was ready for occupation. The 
final cost was $1,250,000, about $800,000 more than had been 
originally allocated. 

On April 4, 1 893 the building was officially opened. 

Soon after opening, it became evident that more space for 
government was needed. In 1909, the north wing was added. 

The west wing was gutted by fire on September 1, 1909, 
causing $700,000 in damage. When the west wing was rebuilt, it 
was done in a fireproof manner. Today the west wing is marble and 
metal while the east wing and the chamber are oak. 

Let me conclude with some Queen's Park trivia: 

• The building is affectionately known as the Pink Palace. 

• The University Lunatic Asylum was located on the site until the 
1 860s. Rumour has it that part of the building was constructed on 
the old foundation. 

• The circular window in the west tower was supposed to house 
a clock but it was never installed. 

• 1 934 - Mitch Hepburn rented Varsity Stadium to auction off the 

209 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

fleet of government cars. He also thought the Archives was an 
unnecessary expense - J.J. Talman hid the collection. 

• Televised sessions did not begin until the mid-1980s. 

• At least three ghosts are said to haunt the building. 

• Masonic Premiers: Arthur Hundy, Sir George Ross, Sir William 
Hearst, E.C. Dinney, George Howard Ferguson, George S. Henry, 
Mitchel Frederick Hepburn (a member of my mother lodge St. 
Davids 302), Gordon Conant, Harry Nixon, George Drew (his 
portrait clearly shows his 33 degree ring), Thomas Kennedy, Leslie 
Frost, William Davis, Frank Miller, Ernie Eves. 

• No cornerstone. 



Thank you for the opportunity to address you this 
evening. I say thank you to the members of Heritage 
Lodge for your dedication to preserving Masonic history 
here in the Province of Ontario. Have a fine evening. 



Bibliography 

'From Front Street to Queen's Park - The Story of Ontario's Parliament 

Buildings', Eric Arthur, 1979 

'A Century to Celebrate, 1893-1993: The Ontario Legislature Building', 

Roger Hall, 1993 

'Toronto in the Parliaments of Upper Canada', William Riddell, 1922 

'The Places of Government, 1792-1992', C.A. Dale, 1993 

'Government on Fire, The History of Archeology of Upper Canada's First 

Parliament Buildings', Frank Dieterman and Ronald Williamson, 2001 



210 



13 at 13 

13 Charter Members and the First 
13 Years of Oxford Lodge No. 76 

by W.Bro. John F. Sutherland 

W.M., Oxford Lodge No. 76 
Woodstock Masonic Temple 

March 25, 2006 



INTRODUCTION 

Travelling the world, our ancestors have covered the four 
divisions of the globe. In many cases those travels led to 
locations that they would call home. One home, the Town of 
Woodstock, formally came to be in 1851. Churches, 
businesses, factories and fraternal organizations became part 
of the landscape. Some have remained, some moved on, while 
others just faded away. The members of Oxford Lodge, echo 
the activities and actions of the many people who are a part of 
Woodstock and Oxford County. 

On April 29, 2007, Oxford Lodge No. 76 will celebrate its 
150th anniversary. Almost 1,500 Masons have been a part of 
our Lodge's history. From brethren who only have their first 
degree, to those who were Master of the Lodge, Grand Lodge 
Officers or even those who never missed a meeting. Since 
1857 we have had Members of Parliament, a Member of the 
Provincial Legislature, one Senator, a number of mayors, as 
well as losing three brethren during the Great War. 

The history of our first 150 years will be complemented 
with three books. Each book will cover a 50-year period. What 
we will attempt to do in this paper is to show where our 1 3 
charter members came from, where they ended up, as well as 
what happened during our lodge's first 13 years. 

211 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

Some made a name for themselves before coming to 
Woodstock, some made their mark here in town, while others 
moved on to make a difference elsewhere. 

BACKGROUND 

Woodstock has always been centrally located. In today's 
world, we are at the junction of the 403 and 401 Highways, 
being two hours from Niagra Falls, Sarnia, Windsor and 1 14 
hours from Toronto. Woodstock is on the Governor's Road 
where it crosses over the Thames River. The first major 
transportation route was the railway that came through town in 
1 854, from Toronto, and later going to Windsor. 

The oldest community in the area is Ingersoll, which began 
to grow in the late 1 700s. Masonically, King Hiram Lodge was 
begun in Ingersoll in 1802. 

Although designated a potential townsite in 1798, 
Woodstock was not settled until 1800. Zacharias Burtch and 
his sons cleared 12.5 hectares (30 acres) and built the first log 
house along Dundas Street, on the present site of the 
Woodstock YMCA. 1 A direct descendent of Burtch, was 
recently a member and officer of Oxford Lodge, until being 
transferred to the U.S., one of many brethren to go south. 

In 1836 there were 200 people living in the area of 
Woodstock; by 1 844, Woodstock had a population of 940 with 
over 1 60 homes. 

The local half-pay retired Naval Officers requested that the 
developing community of Woodstock should serve as the town 
seat, and in 1839, the courthouse was built in Woodstock due 
to the persuasion of Captains Andrew Drew, Peter Carroll and 
Philip Graham. A small jail had been in Ingersoll, for a number 
of years, but the decision to build a more formidable 
courthouse and jail in Woodstock, eight miles away, would 
shift much of the commerce and other activities to Woodstock. 

On January 1, 1851, Woodstock became a town with the 
first meeting of the new town council in the Royal Pavilion 
Hotel on January 6 and 1? 



212 



THIRTEEN AT THIRTEEN 

With a population of over 1,000 people, the need for a 
Masonic lodge in the Woodstock area had been discussed, 
under the initiative of John McWhinnie. 

Correspondence was exchanged with the Provincial Grand 
Lodge of Canada West (offices in Toronto). King Solomon's 
Lodge was instituted as No. 38 of the Provincial Grand Lodge 
of Canada West on Dec. 22, 1852, in the town of Woodstock. 
King Solomon's Lodge was also warranted as No. 896, under 
United Grand Lodge of England register. The Mother Lodge of 
King Solomon's was St. John's Lodge, Carlton Place, which 
was John McWhinnie's mother lodge. The officers were 
installed and invested by some past masters of St. George's 
Lodge of London. When King Solomon's Lodge was instituted, 
George W. Whitehead was installed as the first Worshipful 
Master at the age of 62, and John McWhinnie was the lodge's 
first Secretary. 

King Solomon's Lodge Charter Members 
Whitehead, George W., St. Johns Lodge, Simcoe? 
Barnes, John, Prince Edward 150, Lancashire, England 
McWhinnie, John, St. John's, Carleton Place 
Clark, John, St. Johns 214, Quebec 

Woodcock, Ralph, A., King Hiram, Ingersoll, (Woodstock 
merchant) 

Kintrea, James, Kilmo Limerick L, Elgin, Scotland 
Green, Alexander, New Edinburgh Kilwinning, Edinburgh 
Kellogg, Ebeneezer, Jefferson Lodge, ?-? illegible 
Lapenotiere, William, Strict Observance, Hamilton 
Dorman, Henry, King Hiram, Oxford W, Canada, (Ingersoll) 

The first meetings were held at Henry Dorman' s Inn. 
Before moving to Woodstock, Dorman had an inn and stable 
in Burford, where he had been an acquaintance of George 
Whitehead. 

In 1855 a number of Lodges in Upper Canada or Canada 
West, had left the Provincial Grand Lodge of Canada West to 
form their own Grand Lodge of Canada under the leadership 



213 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

of William Mercer Wilson. The members of King Solomon's 
Lodge in Woodstock would remain with the original 
Provincial Grand Lodge of Canada West, where Sir Allan 
Napier McNab was the Grand Master. 

A second Woodstock Lodge, Oxford No. 56 was Instituted 
on April 29, 1857. The installing master was Very Worshipful 
Brother J. Harding, Grand Registrar, and a Past Master of St. 
George's Lodge of London. Eleven of the 1 3 Charter Members 
were from King Solomon's Lodge. Even though those 
members had separated from King Solomon's, the two lodges 
would work together sharing many things, most importantly 
their lodge room, as well, this new lodge would affiliate with 
McNab' s Provincial Grand Lodge. 

Our First Installation 

Minutes of the Installation of the Office Bearers of the 

Oxford Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons Held in the 

Masonic Hall, Woodstock, County of Oxford 29 April 5857, 

Installed under a Dispensation Granted by the Provincial 

Grand Lodge Under the authority of Grand Lodge of England 
Pro Tern Present 



G.M. 


V.W.Bro. J. Harding 


St. George's 


London 


P.G.M. 


W.Bro. J. Bennett 


St. George's 


London 


G.S.W. 


W.Bro. C. Kuhn 


Simcoe 


Simcoe 


G.J.W. 


W.Bro. J. R. Brown 


St. George's 


London 


G.S. 


W.Bro. F.R. Ball 


King Solomon's Woodstock 


G.S.D. 


W.Bro. Oliver 


Unity 


Paris 


G.J. D. 


John Carroll 


Westminster 




G.I.G. 


W.Bro. J. Long 


Norfolk 


Simcoe 



G.Tyler Bro.Ebenezer Kellogg King Solomon's Woodstock 
Other Members of Oxford Lodge Present: V.W. Bro. G.W. 
Whitehead, Bro. W.P. Street, Bro. R.A. Woodcock, Bro. John 
VanVoorhis, Bro. John G. Carroll, Bro. C.H. Whitehead, Bro. 
J. G. Vansittart, Bro. J.A. Hamilton; King Solomon's 
Woodstock: Bro. Schyler Brown, Bro. J.W. Ferguson, Bro. 
William Warwick, Bro. Joseph Sudsworth, Bro. Andrew Ross, 



214 



THIRTEEN AT THIRTEEN 

Bro. George Forbes, Bro. Alexander Green, Bro. Thomas 
Scott, Bro. George A. Hicks (Flick); Unity, Paris: Bro. C. 
Westing,, Bro. Chaes, Bro. Horace Capron, and Bro. Flock 
from London. 

The Grand Lodge was opened in the entered apprentice 
degree at 4:30 p.m. The authority appointing V.W.Bro. 
Harding officiating Grand Master was read. The secretary then 
read the dispensation from the provincial Grand Lodge 
authorizing the Installation of the Oxford Lodge. 

The Grand Master then proceeded to install V.W.Bro. 
G.W. Whitehead as W.M. of the Oxford Lodge - The G.M. 
then required all Brethren not Past Masters to retire. The 
ceremony of installation of the W.M. was concluded, and the 
Brethren called into the Lodge again when Bro. W. Street was 
installed S.W., Bro. R. Woodcock J.W. Bro. C.H. Whitehead 
Treasurer, Bro. F. R. Ball as proxy for John Greig, Secretary, 
Bro. John G. Carrall as proxy for Jordan Charles, S.D., Bro. J. 
A. Hamilton J.D., Bro. J. B. VanVoorhis I.G., Bro. E. Kellogg 
Tyler. The Lodge closed in harmony at 5:20 p.m. 3 

With this ceremony Oxford Lodge would be Instituted as 
No. 56 on The Grand Register of the Provincial Grand Lodge 
of Canada West, but was not warranted with the United Grand 
Lodge of England. 

CHARTER MEMBERS 

Like many lodges, the charter members of this new lodge 
had not only various backgrounds, but had only been in 
Woodstock a short time. 

George Washington Whitehead was born in New 
Brunswick in 1790, the son of Rev. Thomas Whitehead a 
Methodist minister. The Whitehead family moved to the 
Burford area in 1811. In 1813 at age 23 he opened the first 
store in Burford, close to Henry Dorman's establishments. 
With this General Store he would also become the first Post 
Master as well. 

Thomas Horner established the first militia in Oxford on 



215 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

22nd March, 1798. A reorganization of the Oxford Militia by 
Horner in 1824 gave the Command of the Burford Company 
to George Whitehead. In 1829, at age 39, he was appointed 
Capt. of the Burford Militia, with 64 men under his command. 

One of the most crucial events that would change his life 
and others like him, occurred in 1833. Egerton Ryerson, the 
head of the Methodist Church, led clerics like Thomas 
Whitehead to now support Lt. Gov. Colbourne and therefore 
changing politically from Reformer to Tory. The remaining 
Episcopal Methodists saw Ryerson's move as a betrayal of 
their principals. 

After the rebellion of 1837 Whitehead was promoted to 
Colonel for the work he had done in assisting Sir Allan Napier 
MacNab's men in stopping the rebellion in the Norwich area. 

In 1848 Whitehead moved into Woodstock and became 
publisher of the Conservative British American newspaper. 
J.G. Vansittart, the son of Admiral Henry Vansittart, was the 
principal proprietor. At this point in time there were numerous 
papers in the area. Shortly after Whitehead's arrival on the 
scene there would be no more competition. 

Whitehead was initiated into Masonry in St. John's Lodge, 
Simcoe, in April 1 8 1 7 at the age of 27, when he was still in the 
Burford area. Whitehead's Masonic life was fairly quiet and 
did not come to the forefront until his arrival in Woodstock in 
1848 at the age of 58. George was one of three charter 
members of King Solomon's Lodge to start this second Lodge 
in town. 

With Sir Allan Napier MacNab as Grand Master of the 
Provincial Grand Lodge of Canada West, Whitehead had been 
an active Grand Lodge Officer since the late 1 840s. 

John Greig was born on April 5, 1 808, and received his 
early education in the Burgh school of Montrose, Scotland. On 
leaving the school, he assisted his father, who was assessor and 
collector of taxes in his native town, where John was trained 
in bookkeeping and accounts. Two years later he entered a law 



216 



THIRTEEN AT THIRTEEN 

office in Edinburgh, in which he remained for some years. 

In 1833, he emigrated to upper New York State, where he 
acted as clerk for a year or more in a mercantile establishment 
in Chippewa, New York. In the fall of 1834 he visited 
Woodstock and decided to make the town his home, and soon 
after, opened a store in a house east of Dundas Cottage, at the 
entrance to Old St. Paul's Church. In a few years he 
relinquished that and other occupations and resumed the study 
of law in the office of Mr. Hughes in Woodstock, where he 
then practised as an attorney. 

He was appointed Town Clerk, an office he held for 28 
years. He was actively involved in the formation of the first 
Presbyterian Church here in 1 837. Greig and 1 3 others met in 
the east end school house. Here, they establishment a 
congregation and would later erect the old Kirk on Graham 
Street. He had contributed his time and money for the 
establishment of the public library as well. John was initiated 
into King Solomon's Lodge in July 1855. 

Francis R. Ball was born in 1827 in the Township of 
Niagara. During the Revolutionary War of 1776 his grand- 
father, Col. Mann Ball, joined the British service and held a 
commission in Butler's Rangers, serving until the close of the 
war, when he settled in Niagara. Francis was educated at the 
Niagara Grammar School and began the study of law with C. 
L. Hall of that town and completed it with Judge Burns of 
Toronto. He was admitted to the Bar in 1 850 and then took up 
a practice in Woodstock. In 1856 he contested South Oxford 
in a federal election under the Liberal party. In 1 863 he was 
appointed Clerk of the Peace and Crown Attorney. 

Francis Ball, was part of a consortium that gave a sizable 
amount to the Railway Company. When completed it later 
became part of the Grand Trunk Railway which ran east to 
west from Toronto to Windsor. 

His brother, the Rev. W. S. Ball, was the first pastor of 
Knox Presbyterian Church. Rev. Ball married Marianne 



217 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

Brown, sister of George Brown of the Globe. 

Charles H. Whitehead was a son of George W. 
Whitehead. Charles was born in the township of Burford in 
1 823. He spent his early years on the family farm and went to 
Hamilton and then Ingersoll where he worked as a clerk. In 
1854 at the request of Col. Ingersoll, the County Registrar, he 
worked as deputy registrar, where he remained for 38 years. 

Warren C. Street was a banker, Ralph Woodcock, the 
second of three charter members of King Solomon's Lodge 
and Joseph Hamilton were merchants in Ingersoll and 
Woodstock, respectively. Hamilton had been initiated into 
King Solomon's Lodge in May 1856.A third lawyer, John G. 
Carroll, was in partnership with Francis Ball. He was actively 
involved with the local Militia, being promoted as the adjutant 
in 1852. Jordan Charles and Henry DeBlanquiere entered 
themselves as Esquire. The former was a revenue inspector, 
while the latter had owned a sawmill in Sydenham (Burford 
Township) close to Henry Dorman and George Whitehead, 
before moving to Woodstock. 

The final three charter members lived in close proximity to 
each other on the road leading north from Eastwood, which is 
just a couple of miles east of Woodstock. John G. Vansittart 
was the son of Admiral Henry Vansittart. The Admiral had 
been the highest ranking half-pay officer who had settled in the 
Woodstock area. John G. was the principle proprietor of the 
British American newspaper in the 1 850s which was under the 
editorial control of George Whitehead. Vansittart was initiated 
into King Solomon's Lodge on April 1, 1853. John B. 
VanVoorhis was a lumber merchant and railroad contractor, 
being involved with the building of what would be the Grand 
Trunk Railway. His home was fairly close to that rail line. He 
was initiated into King Solomon's Lodge in June of 1 854. The 
odd man out was Ebenezer Kellogg, who at the age of 65 was 
listed as a labourer, being a farmhand to a family that lived 
between Vansittart and VanVoorhis. Ebenezer was the brother 



218 



THIRTEEN AT THIRTEEN 

who, having been the third charter member of King Solomon's 
Lodge and tyler at King Solomon's Lodge, was asked to retain 
the same chair in Oxford Lodge. Ebenezer would be paid $1 
per night for his work as tyler. With the two lodges having two 
meetings per month on a regular basis, he was well paid, along 
with his work on the farm. Records indicate that he was 
initiated into a Jefferson Lodge, but no Grand Jurisdiction is 
indicated. 

John Carroll, Charles Whitehead, Jordan Charles and 
Francis Ball were initiated in King Solomon's Aug. 16, 1853. 

ON OUR OWN 

The lodge's first meeting, conducted under its own 
authority, was one month later on May 13, 1857, when the 
Lodge was not opened until 8:45 p.m. Business of the meeting 
was one of organization: 

RESOLVED: that the W.M., S. and J. Wardens and 
secretary be a committee to draw up a code of bylaws and 
report the same to the next meeting. 

RESOLVED: that W.M. correspond with Bro. Richardson 
and Bro. Harding for the purpose of ascertaining the price of 
Lodge Collars, Jewels Etc. 

RESOLVED: that Bro. Warwick (King Solomon's Lodge) 
be requested to procure for the Lodge buy a dozen Entered 
Apprentice Lamb Skin Aprons. 

RESOLVED that the W.M., S.W. J.W. the secretary and 
Bros. Charles and Carroll be a committee to arrange with 
Bro. Norton in reference to the refreshments furnished at the 
installation of Lodge. 

Communication from Oxford Lodge with King Solomon's 
Lodge on May 13 1857 stated: 

RESOLVED: that the secretary correspond with King 
Solomon 's and ascertain from that Lodge if the members 
thereof know of any reason why the application of John 
Turquand should not be received favourably . 

At the following meeting dated June 1 0, 1 857, it was stated 



219 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

the secretary had been authorized by the W.M. and brethren of 
King Solomon's Lodge to say that they were not aware that 
any reason existed why Dr. Turquand should not be admitted 
into the Masonic Order. 

Dr. John Turquand was then the first initiated member of 
Oxford Lodge. Dr. Turquand was born in Malta, on Feb. 25, 
1 8 1 5. In 1 820, the family came to Canada, and located at York, 
where his father was chief clerk in the Receiver-General office. 
After the union of Upper and Lower Canada in 1841, he 
became Receiver-General for a short time. John was a pupil at 
The Old District School which was run by Archdeacon 
Strachan. John spent three years at Upper Canada College, 
Toronto, when it opened in 1830. In 1836 he passed his 
medical exams at McGill College. His family's connections 
with Rev. Wm. Bettridge of St. Paul's church in Woodstock 
and Admiral Vansittart brought him to Woodstock, 
commencing his medical practice here, in September, 1837 4 . 
He would be the first president of the Ontario College of 
Physicians and Surgeons in 1867. He was a member of Royal 
College of Surgeons, England, and of the College of 
Physicians, Edinburgh 5 

Dr. Turquand' s brother, Bertrand Turquand, who was 25 
years his senior, was the Grand Secretary of the Provincial 
Grand Lodge in Upper Canada from 1 822 until his resignation 
in 1842. 
GRAND LODGE UNION (Our Lodge's Perspective) 

The September and October meetings of Oxford Lodge in 
1 857 centered around the upcoming meeting of Grand Lodge: 

RESOL VED that the W. M. and either of the Wardens 
should be delegates from this Lodge at the approaching 
meeting of the G. L. and that they take the dispensation with 
them, but that they do not give up the dispensation without 
referring the matter to the lodge. 

A Communication of the Grand Lodge of Canada West 
was held on September 1857 wherein Whitehead was 



220 



THIRTEEN AT THIRTEEN 

appointed to the Board of General Purposes. 

The following month Oxford Lodge's minutes indicate that 
The W.M. (Whitehead) gave a short speech, narrated the 
proceedings of the late meeting of the P. G.L. and said that the 
dispensation of this lodge had been given up in accordance 
with other lodges throughout the Province and that this lodge 
was now working under a dispensation granted by Sir Allan N. 
McNab as G.M. of the Ancient G.L. of Canada 

In May of 1858, our minute book states Communication 
from V.W.Bro. Ridout D.G.M. concerning the proposed 
arrangements contemplated Union of two Grand Lodges was 
read. 

RESOLVED that the communication from D.G.M. of the 
Ancient Grand Lodge of Canada dated May 21, instruct this 
lodge to be represented on the same grand lodge on the 2nd 
day of June and the correspondence between the D. G.M. of the 
ancient Grand Lodge and the Most Wor. the Grand Master of 
the Grand Lodge of Canada on the subject of the reunion of 
the several Grand Lodges in Canada be approved of and that 
this lodge be accordingly represented. 

Communication between the P. G.L. and the upstart Grand 
Lodge under Wm. Mercer Wilson was resumed and on the 
1 4th of July 1 858, the 3rd Communication of the Grand Lodge 
saw the beginning of the Union with McNab' s Grand Lodge 
that had been renamed the Ancient Grand Lodge. 

The Grand Lodge of Canada called off late in the afternoon 
of the 14th of July, and resumed at 7:30 p.m. The Grand 
Pursuivant announced that a deputation from the Ancient 
Grand Lodge of Canada was awaiting admission. 

The Grand Lodge of Canada was called to order. A 
deputation consisting of Right Worshipful Brothers T.O. 
Harrington, T.G. Ridout, S.B. Harmon and G.W. Whitehead 
from the Ancient Grand Lodge of Canada, were introduced, 
and announced that the preamble and resolutions for union, 
had been unanimously adopted by the Ancient Grand Lodge. 



221 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

Our Grand Lodge of Canada in the Province of Ontario had 
now begun as the only Grand Lodge in Canada West. 

The following business was brought to Oxford Lodge, 
concerning those meetings at Grand Lodge in Toronto: 

The W.M. laid before the lodge his report on the 
Proceedings of the Grand lodge on the 14, 15 and 1 6th July at 
Toronto. - which was read by the sec. The dispensation in 
favour of this lodge was also read. 

RESOLVED that the report now read be adopted and 
entered in the minutes. 

RESOLVED that the W.M., the sec. and Br o. Turquandbe 
a committee to report on the by-laws to the next R.C. 

RESOLVED that the Treasurer, Secretary and Bros. 
Turquand and DeBlanquiere be a committee to receive into the 
accounts and make a general statement of the finances of the 
Lodge to the 14 July last and to report the same the next R. C. 

The complete copy of the report of Amalgamation was 
handwritten into the minute book of the lodge and is an exact 
account that is also found in John Ross Robertson's volumes. 

The districts within Grand Jurisdiction were redefined in 
1 861 and The Wilson District No. 3 was formed, with George 
Whitehead becoming the first District Deputy Grand Master in 
1861. 

Within those early years of developing a new Lodge and 
negotiating a new Grand Lodge, the members of Oxford went 
about to initiate and affiliate a number of new members. They 
also had the time to take care of some individual needs 
required by some of the members. 

MEMBERS STORIES 

During the same period an interesting series of events took 
place concerning Bro. Milligan, which shows how transient 
many people were. On March 14 th of 1860, Letter from White 
Pigeon Mich, in answer to one from sec. of this lodge as to 
standing of Mr. Wm. Milligan while there. 

On May 9 th 1 860, Brother Milligan, having obtained his 



222 



THIRTEEN AT THIRTEEN 

first degree and solicitous before leaving this country on 
having 2nd and 3rd degree conferred, an appl was made for 
dispensation which was obtained by the Deputy District G M. . 
Bro. Milligan then received his second and third degree that 
evening. It was then moved seconded and carried that Bro. 
Milligan be refunded 1/3 of his initiation fee to apply on 
dispensation fee. 

The Lodge's first full participation in a Masonic Funeral 
took place in February of 1865. An emergent meeting was 
called to make arrangements for Bro. John Andrew - late of 
Beaver Lodge Strathroy and formerly a member of this lodge 
who requested a short time previous to his death that his body 
be buried by his Masonic Brethren in Woodstock 

IV. M. requested that the brethren should meet in the Lodge 
room at 3:30 next day, where they travelled to the Great 
Western Railway depot, received body of late Bro. Andrew 
from the cars and from then brought to church of England 
burial ground where it was interred with full Masonic 
honours, the brethren then return to lodge. They closed Lodge 
at 7 p.m. 

For many people, Woodstock, like many towns, was a 
stopping point in their ongoing travels. 

Bro. Robert W. W. Carrall, had a similar educational 
back-ground to John Turquand. He was born in 1837 at 
Can-all's Grove, near Woodstock He was educated at Trinity 
College, Toronto, though he did not graduate, and he later 
received his Medical Degree from McGill University in 1859. 
Dr. Carrall affiliated with Oxford on August 10, 1861. He 
practised for a short time in Woodstock. In 1 862 he became a 
contract surgeon with the Union forces of the U.S. 

In 1 865 he moved to British Columbia, where he set up a 
practice in Nanaimo, then later moved to Barkerville. In the 
October 1868 election, he gained a seat on the Legislative 
Council, on which he served until 1871. In January 1870 
Governor Anthony Musgrave, gave him a seat on the 



223 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

Executive Council, and on April 20 th he was appointed one of 
the three delegates to Ottawa to discuss the terms of British 
Columbia's union with Canada. In Ottawa, Carrall was the 
only delegate to have an interview with MacDonald. Shortly 
after British Columbia became part of the Confederation, 
Carrall was appointed to the Senate on Dec. 3 1,1871. His most 
notable achievement came in 1879, when he introduced the 
bill, which was later passed, to make the first day of July a 
public holiday by the name of Dominion Day. 

Bro. Henry Smith was another doctor from Oxford Lodge 
who, after being initiated , passed and raised in 1862, left 
Woodstock to assist in the Civil War in the U. S. In late 1868 
a communication was receivedfrom Bro. Henry Smith wishing 
to be informed what his dues amounted to, also requesting 
that his demit be granted. The secretary having already replied 
to the letter giving the desired information at the same time 
stating that a demit will not be granted till arrears of dues 
were paid. No further action was taken in the matter. 

In December 1868, a letter from Bro. Smith who had been 
suspendedfor non-payment of dues in the year 1863, was read, 
asking the lodge to remit him a portion of his dues on account 
of his long absence from Canada having served with the 
United States Army during the late American War. Bro. Stark 
having raised some objection to a demit being granted Bro. 
Smith under any circumstances, the matter was allowed to 
drop, on the understanding that the secretary communicate 
with R. W. Bro. Curtis, the D. D. G. M. asking him for his opinion 
and judgement in the matter. There was no further 
communication from the D.D.G.M., so that was that. 

MASTERS OF THE LODGE 

During our introductory period six brethren would become 
Master of the lodge. George W. Whitehead took the reigns for 
our first two years, 1 857-59, Jordan Charles 1 860-61 and then 
again in '64, John Turquand 1862-63, then again in 1866-67. 
Homer Brown in 1865, Edward Burke in 1868 and E. 



224 



THIRTEEN AT THIRTEEN 

Farquiere for the period 1869-71. 

Brother John Turquand, the third Worshipful Master of 
Oxford Lodge, at the Annual Communications of Grand Lodge 
in 1 867, was elected Grand Junior Warden. 

PUBLIC OFFICIALS 

From 1851 until 1870, three members of Oxford Lodge 
were mayors; Wm. Grey, Thomas Cottle and Homer Brown; 
while Joseph Sudsworth, James Kintrea, John McWhinnie and 
Hugh Richardson, of King Solomon's Lodge were also 
mayors. 

Bro. William Grey, was mayor in 1 859, then from 1 866 to 
1867 and then again from 1870 to 1871. He had erected the 
first three-storey brick building found in Woodstock, a hotel 
called the Royal Pavilion in 1 844 at a cost of 500 pounds. He 
was clerk for East Oxford Township, board member for Brock 
District Building Society, board member for Farmer and 
Mechanics Building Society of the County of Oxford and was 
elected as a town councillor for Woodstock during the town's 
second municipal election, Jan. 1852. Grey was an Ensign in 
Second Battalion, Oxford Militia (Blandford and East Oxford), 
June 1847 to at least June 1852. 

W.Bro. Homer Pratt Brown was the seventh initiated 
member of the lodge. Brown was born on the 13 th of February 
1822, in Cataraugus County, New York State, U.S.A. He 
emigrated with his parents in 1835, settling at Paris, Upper 
Canada. After leaving school, he worked for a short time on a 
farm, and then apprenticed to the trade of a moulder. 

In 1844, at Ingersoll, he got into conversation with a 
founder, who induced the young prospective immigrant to stay 
with him. He remained in that town for a short time, and his 
employer, then desiring to locate a foundry in Woodstock, sent 
Brown here as a partner. This partnership existed for ten years 
under the name H.P Brown and Co. The H.P. Brown and Co. 
iron foundry burned on the 8th of September 1852, and was 
rebuilt on the same site. In 1854 Mr. Brown became sole 



225 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

proprietor of the foundry, and for 13 years carried on the 
business under the name of Woodstock Iron Works, H. P. 
Brown, which was located on the north side of Dundas Street, 
just west of Wellington St. N. By 1867 a 1 0-horsepower 
engine had been installed and 26 men were on the payroll. 

The company was a leader in its field and manufactured 
stoves, threshing machines, plows, cultivators, mill gearing 
and sheet metal ware. The business increased considerably 
with the arrival of the railway in 1 853. The company was sold 
in 1867, owing to the ill health of the owner. 

Bro. Brown was a member of Town Council for 14 years, 
and the Mayor in 1861. He was the Reeve for a number of 
years and resigned in 1869 to accept the office of Treasurer of 
the County 6 . 

A BROTHER'S PLIGHT 

In the late 1850s one of our charter members, Ebenezer 
Kellogg, seemed to have fallen on hard times, beginning on 
March 9 th 1859. Moved that a subscription list be prepared 
and circulated among the members of the Lodge for the 
purpose of subscribing means towards Bro. Kellogg f s support. 

February 8, 1 860, Moved that the Lodge devote out of its 
funds the sum of $.50 per week in conjunction with King 
Solomon's Lodge to go to the support of Bro. Kellogg. 

On April 14 th it was moved, . . . that five dollars be granted 
out of the funds of the lodge to go to the support of Bro. 
Kellogg and that an order be drawn on the treasury 
accordingly, and that a sum of one dollar be allowed him 
during the pleasure of the W.M. or any sum not to exceed 
$50.00 the W.M. may think proper, 

At the September 1 2th meeting in 1 860, It was moved and 
seconded that the Master of the Lodge be empowered to act in 
concert with the W.M. of King Solomon's Lodge to use some 
means to effect to removal of Bro. Kellogg to his friends in 
Texas and that the Sect, of this Lodge do apply to the Grand 
Master asking if the two Lodges here would by any possibility 



226 



THIRTEEN AT THIRTEEN 

get assistance from the Grand Lodge to meet in the object they 
have in mind. 

On October 1 th a response was received from our Grand 
Lodge; Communications from the Grand Lodge Sec. relative 
to the assisting of Bro. Kellogg to remove to his friends in 
Texas, read 

It was moved . . . that the thanks of this lodge be tendered 
thro (sic) the Sec. of this Lodge to the M.W. the G.M. Bro. 
Harris for there assistance in approximating the sum of forty 
dollars out of the Grand Lodge fund for Bro. Kellogg. 

At the November meeting in 1861, it was resolved 
pursuant to former notice. That the following be placed on the 
books - moved by Bro. R. W.Bro. Carroll and seconded by Bro. 
Bell that the purpose of forming a relief fund each member 
shall pay 25 cents on the regular meeting in the months of 
Jan., April, July and October in each year - such relief fund to 
be at the disposal of the W.M. or in his absence of the Senior 
or Junior Warden and bills of relief not to be subject to clause 
No. 16. 

A PERMANENT LODGE ROOM 

In June of 1 866, the first of many notations concerning a 
new building was first entered, to be followed by a number of 
others on an irregular basis. 

A committee be appointed to confer with the committees of 
King Solomon's Lodge and the Oxford Chapter to arrange 
with Bro. Bryant with respect to new Lodge Room. In October 
1868, Bro. McKinnon having stated to the lodge that he was 
intending to erect a large building on the corner of Perry and 
Dundas street by means of a joint stock company, a portion of 
the building to be occupied by the Royal Canada Bank and 
other offices. The third storey to be appropriated for the use of 
the Masonic Lodges of the town if a suitable arrangement 
could be made with them. 

One of the major events that marked the end of this 13- 
year period was, the moving into our first permanent Masonic 



227 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

Home. The future building was first discussed in September of 
1869, a committee be appointed for the purpose of conferring 
with any committee the Oxford Chapter and King Solomon 's 
Lodge should appoint to consider a proposition from Mr. John 
Mclntyre in reference to a new lodge room in the building he 
is about to erect, adjoining his present store on Dundas St. In 
March 1870, the committees appointed by Oxford Chapter, 
Oxford Lodge and King Solomon 's Lodge in reference to the 
advisability of obtaining a new lodge room, reported in favour 
of accepting Mr. Mclntyre 's offer at a rental of $100 per 
annum and taxes according to the plan prepared by G. W. 
White the architect. 

The next month, King Solomon's Lodge had on the 
previous evening that the lodge had passed a resolution 
declining to accept Mr. Mclntyre 's offer resolved to reduce the 
rent to Oxford Chapter 18 and Oxford Lodge 76 to $30 per 
annum, to remain in the present location. This was followed 
shortly after with, appoint a committee to ascertain what 
furniture would be required for the lodge room, procure an 
estimate of the same. 

After negotiations and renovations, on November 9th 1 870, 
ceremony of the dedication of the new Lodge Hall was then 
proceeded with and performed by R. W.Bro. P.J. Brown, the 
D.D.G.M.. assisted by W.Bro. Sec. L. Beard as Grand Senior 
Warden and W. Bro. B. James Scar ff as Grand Junior Warden 
and Bro. the Rev. D. McDermitt as Grand Chaplain, Bro. W. 
McCausland acting as Grand Organist. 

It was moved and carried that a vote of thanks be given 
(Mr.) James Hay and Bro. Thurston for the very satisfactory 
manner in which their respective contracts for furniture of the 
New Hall had been performed. Thanks to W. Bro. J. L. Scarfffor 
the letter G. To Bro. McCausland for his kindness in allowing 
the use of a harmonium on the present location. R. W.Bro. John 
Turquand having paid his dues was restored to membership. 



228 



THIRTEEN AT THIRTEEN 

R. W.Bro. John Turquand presented the lodge with the pen 
with which the warrant of the P. Grand Lodge of Canada was 
signed by the late R. W. Bro. Sir Allan Napier McNah. also with 
the certificate of Bro. Bernard Turquand (his father) a Royal 
Arch Super Excellent Mas on from the Grand Lodge in Messina 
the Island of Sicily, under the date 10th day of June 1812. 

END OF AN ERA 
In March of 1 870 the other important event which helps 
mark an end to this 13-year period, was the passing of George 
Whitehead. The director of ceremonies and the stewards were 
then directed to make the necessary arrangements for the 
funeral which was to take place on the Monday the 28th at 
3:30. Both King Solomon's and Oxford Lodge were to meet at 
the hall on that day at 2:00. The brethren then walked in 
procession attended with the band of the 22nd battalion, The 
Oxford Rifles which was placed at their disposal by the Col. 
Commanding. The usual service of the order was performed. 
The procession reformed and proceeded to St. Paul's 
churchyard, where the remains of the R. W.Bro. Whitehead 
were interred with masonic honours. The brethren returned to 
the Lodge, where it was closed at 5:20 p.m. 

CLOSURE 

In later years officer progression took a very standard 
formula. Starting as a Steward, then becoming the Inner Guard, 
Jr. and Sr. Deacon and then Jr. and Sr. Warden before sitting 
in the East as Worshipful Master. During our introductory 
years, there was no semblance of officer progression. John 
Turquand started in 1858 as the Master of Ceremonies, 
Chaplain in 1859, Sr. Warden in 1860, then Wor. Master in 
1861 and 1862. Six of the brethren took on the Secretary's 
chair and Charles Whitehead was the one and only Treasurer. 
John VanVoorhis, the railway contractor, began as Inner Guard 
in 1857, then Tyler and finally was a Steward for two years. 
Quite a number of brethren would only take one or two chairs 
before leaving the officer ranks. 



229 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

Oxford Lodge's members, like many in our Grand 
Jurisdiction, have covered a vast spectrum of our town's 
population, socially, politically academically and 
economically. No matter what their backgrounds or present 
activities, they have formed an interconnecting mosaic and 
would all meet on the level while in lodge as well as working 
together in the community. A Level Mosaic. 

Within the first 1 3 years there were 96 members; 1 3 charter 
members, 14 affiliated members and 69 initiates. Their 
occupations and stations in life varied, to say the least. There 
were accountants, attorneys, cabinetmakers, carpenters, cigar 
maker, clerks, confectioners, an engine driver, esquires, 
farmers, gentlemen, one grocer; a harness maker, hotel 
keepers, manufacturers, merchants, a miller, physicians, 
plasterer, postmasters, one saddler, a stationmaster, teacher, 
telegraph operator, tinsmith, veterinarian, yeoman. 

As far as the charter members are concerned, George 
Whitehead, Jordan Charles and Ebenezer Kellogg passed 
away, while Warren Street, Ralph Woodcock and Joseph 
Hamilton had demitted. Francis Ball was suspended for non- 
payment of dues in 1864, then John Greig, John VanVoorhis, 
John Carroll were all suspended in March of 1 868 for the same 
offence. Henry DeBlanquiere would be suspended three years 
later in 1 873. Charles Whitehead and John G. Vansittart would 
remain active until their deaths in 1 891 and 1 901 respectively. 

Some made a name for themselves before coming to 
Woodstock, some made their mark here in town, while others 
moved on to make a difference elsewhere. 

Footnotes 

1, 2. http://www.city.woodstock.on ca 

3. Minute Book One of Oxford Lodge, 1857-1876 

4, 5. The Canadian Biological Dictionary and Portrait Gallery of 
Eminent and Self-Made Men, Ontario Volume, 1 880 

6. Woodstock Sentinel Review 

7. Dictionary Canadian Biographies Online 

230 



THE KNIGHTS OF MALTA 

By V.W.Bro. Michael S. Ikonomidis 

Port Hope Masonic Temple, Port Hope, Ontario 
Saturday, May 27, 2006 



EARLY HISTORY 

In 600, Abbot Probus was commissioned by Pope Gregory the 
Great to build a hospital in Jerusalem to treat and care for Christian 
pilgrims to the Holy Land. In 800, Charlemagne, Emperor of the 
Holy Roman Empire, enlarged Probus hostel and added a library 
to it. About 200 years later, in 1005, Caliph El Hakim destroyed 
the hostel and 3,000 other buildings. 

Early in 1 020, prior to the first crusade, Benedictine monks of 
the church of Sainte Marie-Latine had been established in 
Jerusalem by merchants from Amalfi (Italy). The merchants had 
the monopoly of western trade with the Levant (Middle East). The 
monks obtained permission from the Caliph Ali az-Zahir 
Monstrasser-billah of Egypt to build a hospital in Jerusalem, to 
take care the Christian pilgrims travelling to the Holy Land to visit 
the birthplace of Christ. 

The Hospital was dedicated to Saint John Elleemon (The 
Almoner) the son of the King of Cyprus. He flourished in the sixth 
century, and was elected Patriarch of Alexandria. He founded a 
fraternity in Jerusalem with the principal purpose of nursing the 
sick and wounded among the Christian pilgrims who visited the 
Holy Land. Both the Greek and Latin Churches had canonized him 
as St. John of Jerusalem. 

The monks became known as the Freres Hospitallers de St. 
Jean de Jerusalem. The new Order was confirmed by Pope Pascal 
II in the year 1113, acknowledged as a religious one, and the 
Knights followed the rule of Augustine of Hippo. The Hospital was 
build on the site of the monastery of St. John the Baptist, where 
the conception of St. John the Baptist had been announced by an 



231 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

angel. It grew and eventually by the year 1 1 50, a pilgrim placed its 
capacity at about 2,000 pilgrims and several hundred knights, a 
figure rather exaggerated unless that meant all the persons cared 
for in a year. At the same time the hospital had established a 
number of houses in Europe to take care of pilgrims on their way 
to the Holy Land. 

In the early years of the 1 1th century the enigmatic figure of 
Pierre Gerard appeared in Jerusalem. To all indications, to date, he 
founded the Order of Saint John of Jerusalem. 

In the beginning the members were only hospitallers and had 
no military capacity or organization. When Jerusalem was taken by 
the Crusaders (July 15, 1099) many of the wounded Crusaders 
were cared for in the hospital, for which the hospitallers received 
a large share of the booty taken from the infidels. 

After Gerard's death, he was succeeded in 1 120 by Raymond 
du Puys a Frankish Knight who had remained in Jerusalem after 
the first crusade. He realized that a force was necessary in order to 
protect the pilgrims in their travels through the Holy Land from the 
marauding Saracens, who practically controlled the country outside 
the walls of Jerusalem. With the approval of King Baldwin II, 
King of Jerusalem and Pope Pascal II, Raymond du Puys took the 
title of 'Grand Master for the first time, and organized the Order as 
a military unit, hence the new name : The Knights of Saint John of 
Jerusalem. 

By the middle of the 1 2th century, the Order together with the 
Knights Templar, shared on the battlefield the most important 
posts alternately holding the front or rear guard, and through 
donations and conquest, acquired enormous property. The 
Hospitaller Knights constructed great fortresses at vulnerable 
points in the Kingdom of Jerusalem, and expanded its network of 
hospices for service and the defence of pilgrims along important 
routes of travel. 

When the Kingdom was at the height of its glory the Knights 
of St John possessed no fewer than seven strongholds, some 
situated on the mountains and some on the coast. The posts of 
Margat and Krals in the territory of Tripoli, and in Acre (which 
they shared with the Templars) are the most famous. They enjoyed 
the revenues of more than 140 estates in the Holy Land. 

As to their European possessions, a writer of the 13th century 
credits them with about 1 9,000 manses or manors. Thanks to these 
resources, drawn from Europe, the Order was able to survive the 
fall of the Kingdom of Jerusalem especially the loss of Acre to the 
Moslems in 1291, which caused the loss of all their possessions 
and their departure from the Levant. 

232 



THE KNIGHTS OF MALTA 

THE ORGANIZATION 

Originally the Order was comprised of three classes: 

Knights of Justice: Sons of nobles, unblemished, of Catholic 
religion. The Order conducted an exhaustive inquiry into the 
background of each candidate. They were the Officers in the Army. 

Chaplains: Not nobles. They acted as clerks and also served 
the churches, chapels and hospitals of the Order. 

Sergeants at Arms: Recruited from the people, and served 
either in the military, at low commissions, or nursing capacities. 

Later in Malta another class was added, that of: Knights of 
Grace: This title was conferred on persons who had been of 
conspicuous service to the Order. The Order was an international 
organization with members of all countries in Latin Europe. Within 
this multinational, uniform and integrated body, the national 
groups were clearly distinguishable, and the term Tongue (lingual) 
was issued to express the concept of nation or nationality. 

Each Tongue maintained its own inn, where its members 
assembled and offered hospitality to eminent visitors from W. 
Europe. 

THE RHODESIAN PERIOD (1306-1523) 

In 1 29 1 defeated in the holy land by the Islamic powers, the 
Knights, under their Grand Master Jean de Villiers, left Jerusalem 
and went to Cyprus where their stay was not to last. In 1306 under 
the Grand Master Foulques de Villaret retreating from the 
advancing Islamic powers, the Order left Cyprus and moved to 
Rhodes, and by 1309 completed the capture of the island. They 
assumed the eponym Knights of Rhodes, and they enjoyed no 
return territorial sovereignty for the next 2 1 7 years. 

In 1312 the Knights joined the remaining Knights Templars, 
subsequent to the suppression of the latter. The addition of the 
Templars estates, despite the deductions made by King Philip IV 
of Spain and other Europian Kings, increased the wealth of the 
order. Philip IV assigned the property of the Templars in every 
country except Aragon and Portugal. 

When the Order reached Rhodes it was made up of seven 
Tongues: 

I England (included Knights from Scotland and Ireland) 

II Italy (Navarre ) 

III Portugal 

IV Germany 

V France/ Auvergne 

VI Provence 

VII Aragon (included Knights from Spain) In 1461 it was decided 
to split the Tongue of Aragon in two; the second was named the 

233 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

Tongue ofCastille, and assigned the eighth position. 
Hence the symbol of the Order: The eight-pointed Cross. 

THE HIERARCHY 
The Grand Master, Absolute ruler of the Order for life. 
Responsible to the authority of the Pope alone. The administrative 
and military head of the Order. (It should be noted that of the 68 
Grand Masters, 54 were of French origin.) 
Each Tongue was responsible for specific duties: 

Grand Commander, Second in command - Tongue of 
Provence. Income, property, taxes. Stores; meat, soap, bronze and 
other metals, wheat and cereals. Artillery. 

Grand Marshal - Tongue of Portugal. Armaments, 
ammunitions, horses, grand groom; grooms stables, cavalry. 

Grand Hospitaller - Tongue of France/ Auvergne. Hospitals, 
social welfare. 

Grand Admiral - Tongue of Italy. Navy 
Grand Drapier - Tongue ofAragon. Garments. 
Grand Turcopilier - Tongue of England. Coastal defence 
flotilla. 

Grand Treasurer - Tongue of Germany. Finances, timber, 
merchandise, livestock. Fortifications. 

Grand Chancellor - Tongue of Castile. Grand Marshal's 
Secretary. 

THE RULES OF THE ORDER 
Symbol: The eight-pointed cross, (now known as the Maltese 
cross). 

Obligation: The Knights were bound by the Augustinian rules 
of Chastity, Poverty and Obedience. They were also expected to 
observe the eight obligations or aspirations: 
Live in truth. (Spiritual Joy) 
Have faith (Live without Malice) 
Repent of sins 
Give proof of humility 
Love justice 
Be merciful 

Be sincere and whole-hearted 
Endure persecution 
Regalia: Black Habit and a black camel-hair Cloak. A white 
Maltese Cross adorned the breast of the Habit. The cloak was only 
worn on ceremonial occasions. 

Standard: White Maltese Cross against a scarlet background. 

THE GRAND MASTER'S PALACE 
The Palace was the residence of the Grand Master and 
administrative centre of the Knights. It was also the focus of social 

234 



THE KNIGHTS OF MALTA 

and intellectual activity for the upper classes of Rhodes. 
It is a rectangular building , 80m x 75m, arranged around a 
courtyard approx. 50m x 40m. It stands at the highest N W point of 
the Medieval city. It was built at the end of the 7th century to act 
as the citadel of the early Byzantine fortress. 

The main entrance is in the south side, and is flanked by two 
imposing towers. The west side is pierced by a gate, in front of 
which rises a tall square tower, probably the work of the G. Master 
Pierre d,Aubusson (1476-1503). 

On the north side there are underground vaults. These were 
used as storerooms, and it was, probably, in these that part of the 
civilian population took refuge in these in the event of an enemy 
attack. 

Sunk in the courtyard were ten enormous silos in which grain 
was stored. 

The ground floor was occupied by small and large vaulted 
rooms, ranged around a square courtyard, which were used as 
magazines, stables, kitchens etc. 

Inside the entrance to the interior of the Palace was the Chapel 
dedicated to St. Catherine (and very probably to Mary Magdalene). 

On the first floor were various official rooms, such as the 
Grand Council Chamber and the dining room, as well as the private 
quarters of the Grand Master, which was commonly known as 
Margarites. 

During the Turkish occupation (after the departure of the 
Knights from Rhodes), the palace was used as a prison. The Turks 
had paid no heed to its maintenance and it had been left to 
crumble. Its destruction was completed by the earthquakes which 
affected Rhodes from time to time. The final blow was dealt in 
1 856 when gunpowder stored in the vaults of nearby Church of St. 
John blew up and only the ground floor of the palace survived. 
During the Italian occupation (after the Turks) in 1937 the Italian 
governor of the Dodecanese, CM. de Vecchi decided to restore the 
ruined palace. The plans for the work, which was completed in 
1940, were drawn by the Italian architect Vittorio Mesturino, who 
also supervised their implementation. 

In 1523 they capitulated to the Turks led by Suleiman I (The 
Magnificent), and they were forced to leave Rhodes. The Knights 
had nowhere to go, so they moved with what little they could carry 
first to the island of Crete, and then to Civitavecchia in Italy. From 
there they moved to Vitervo, and then to Niece. This period of 
wandering lasted seven years. 

It should be noted that Suleiman attacked Rhodes with a fleet 
of 400 ships and over 200,000 men. The island was defended by a 

235 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

force of 7,500 men in arms, only 290 of whom were Knights, the 
remainder being mercenaries. In the ensuing battles, over the next 
six months until the capitulation, the Turks lost 50,000 men, with 
the Christians losing 2,000. Suleiman in homage to their heroism 
lent them his ships to return to Europe. 

THE MALTESE PERIOD (1530-1798) 

In March of 1 530, under pressure from Pope Clement VIII, and 
with agreement of king Charles V, the Knights under the Grand 
Master Philippe Villiers de L' Isle- Adam accepted the islands of 
Malta in perpetual control for the annual rent of a Falcon. They 
became known as the Knights of Malta, and their symbol of "Eight- 
pointed Cross" is now known as the Maltese Cross. 

The Knights at once resumed the manner of life they had 
practised at Rhodes for the last two centuries. In 1532 they 
established a hospital with accommodations for 564 patients and 
in 1533 they allowed Maltese Chaplains into the Order (Knights 
of Grace). 

With a fleet of more than seven galleys they resisted the 
Barbary pirates who infested the western basin of the 
Mediterranean. They helped King Charles V with his expeditions 
against Tunis and Algiers which gave them the right to increase the 
size of their fleet and give chase to the Turkish galleys operating 
in that area. These enterprises drew upon them fresh attacks from 
the Ottomans. 

May 18, 1565, a Turkish fleet of 138 ships approached the 
island, and 38,000 men disembarked at Marsaxlokk and 1 1 days 
later another 3,000 men from another 38 ships joined them. The 
siege started with an attack on Fort St. Elmo. The fort did not 
survive the fierce battle, and June 23rd it fell to the Turks. It is said 
that over 60,000 cannonballs were fired during the attack. All 100 
Knights and 500 soldiers were massacred and their corpses were 
floated in the Grand Harbour tied upon wooden crosses. This was 
to intimidate the Knights, who in turn used the heads of Turkish 
prisoners as cannon balls against the Turkish lines. 

In the meantime, Grand Master de la Vallete strengthened the 
defences of the cities of Birgu and Senglea. A small force of 600 
men and 44 Knights arrived from Italy to assist the defenders. The 
attack by the Turks was furious; however the Knights and the 
Maltese people staunchly defended the fort and the Turks lost 
2,500 men in July. 

On Sept. 7, Don Garcia from Syracuse with 250 Knights 
landed at Mellieha Bay. The next day the Turks raised the siege of 
Malta and by Sept. 1 2th, they left the island. More than 9,000 men 
were lost during the siege, of whom 219 were Knights. In 

236 



THE KNIGHTS OF MALTA 

retreating the Turks left approximately 30,000 slain. 

After the victory against the Turks, the Knights turned to the 
further development of Malta. A new fortress city was built and 
named Valletta in honour of the Grand Master Jean Parisot de La 
Vallette, under whose guidance the Knights and the people had 
defied the Turkish siege. 

LATER HISTORY 

The Knights eventually lost sight of their vows of poverty 
although generally speaking they fought hard to live by their code, 
the eight aspirations symbolized by the eight-pointed cross. As 
time went on, the Order became redundant as a fighting force. 
When the French revolution broke out , the French Knights were 
deeply divided concerning their loyalties stood. In 1791, a decree 
deprived the French Knights of their nationality and in September 
of 1792 The Order's estates and holdings in France were 
confiscated. 

On May 1 0, 1 798, Napoleon with his fleet on the way to Egypt 
arrived outside Grand Harbour, in Valletta, on the pretext that his 
expedition needed fresh water supplies and he found an Order 
which had lost its morale. Not surprisingly, the French navy did 
not have to fire a single shot to secure Malta from the Knights. On 
the 12th of June, Napoleon entered Valletta and the Grand Master 
de Hompesch surrendered. The Knights left in a hurry and 
Napoleon followed them six days later. 

A fraction of the Knights moved to Russia where Czar Paul I 
assigned them considerable property elected him the Grand Master. 
The election was most irregular, since the Czar was married and 
not even a Catholic, and never ratified by Pope Pius VI. 

Another fraction took hold in England under the direct 
patronage of the Crown. This is the Venerable Order headed by the 
Queen, and runs the Commonwealth-wide St. John Ambulance 
service today. 

A large fragment of the knights became very closely integrated 
with the Papacy, moved to Rome and in 1834 was established 
under the name Sovereign Military Order of Malta or S.M.O.M. 
and is considered to be the most direct successor to the medieval 
Knights Hospitaller. 

Other groups, (Mimic Orders) such as the Protestant Johanniter 
Order in Germany were formed or evolved from the Order and 
were scattered all over Europe. There are now several groups of 
Knights, with different insignia that have some sort of historical 
or other claimed connection to the original Order, and all wear the 
same eight-pointed Maltese cross. 

As a kind of chivalric union, S.M.O.M., the Venerable Order, 

237 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

and some of the Johanniter Order, have joined together to form the 
"Alliance " which presents itself as the canonical Continuation of 
the Order of St. John. 

THE ORDER TODAY 

The full official name of S.M.O.M. is Sovereign Military 
Hospitaller Order of St. John of Jerusalem of Rhodes and of 
Malta [Sovrano Militare Ordine di San Giovanni di 
Gerusalemme di Rodi e di Malta, in Italian]. Its two 
headquarters in Rome, namely the Palazzo Malta, Via dei 
Condotti 68, where the Grand Master resides, and government 
bodies meet, and the Villa Malta on the Aventine which hosts 
the Grand Priory of Rome, the Embassy of the Order to the 
Vatican and the Embassy of the Order to Italy are granted 
extra-territoriality. However, unlike the Holy See, S.M.O.M. 
has no sovereign territory. 

Its military role becoming obsolete, service to the poor 
and the sick is its foremost occupation and, in the second half 
of the 1 9th century, the national associations began to emerge 
and the Order assumed its present structure. 

With a membership of approximately 1 1 ,000 in 54 
countries, the Order is recognized under international law as 
& sovereign entity and exchanges ambassadors and diplomatic 
representatives with over 90 countries. 

August 24, 1 994, the Order was admitted to the United 
Nations with the status of Permanent Observer, similar to the 
status granted to the Red Cross and other relief organizations, 
which allows the Order to participate in the discussions of the 
General Assembly. This allows the Order to intervene with 
timely and effective reaction in the event of natural disaster or 
armed conflict. 

The Order of Malta operates dozens of hospitals and 
clinics around the world. It runs nursing homes, assisted 
living facilities for the elderly, and hospices for the terminally 
ill. For the last 40 years has been dealing extensively with the 
treatment of leprosy, and it has launched programs to assist 
mothers and children in the third world suffering from AIDS. 

The Order works on the front line in natural disasters and 
armed conflicts around the world. It sets up first aid and 
potable water stations and provides food and other emergency 
supplies. In recent years has been highly active in Kosovo and 

238 



THE KNIGHTS OF MALTA 

Afghanistan, and has established medical and nutrition 
programs in Africa, Asia, and South America. 

The largest joint activity of the Order is in the Holy 
Family Maternity Hospital in Bethlehem. Since 1990, more 
than 25,000 babies have been born there. The Hospital 
provides state-of-the-art pre- and post-natal care to women of 
all races and religions free of charge. 

All members of the Order worldwide belong to a Priory, 
a Sub-Priory, or a National Association. The Knights are 
referred to as "Fra ", short for "Frater \ the Latin word for 
brother. 

There are three classes of membership: 

First Class - The Knights of Justice and Conventual 
Chaplains, have taken the three monastic vows of poverty, 
chastity, and obedience; 

Second Class - Knights and Dames In Obedience, make 
a promise to strive for Christian perfection in accordance with 
the spirit of the Order; 

Third Class- Knights and Dames of Honour and Devotion, 
Conventual Chaplains ad honorem, Knights and Dames of 
Grace and Devotion, Magistral Chaplains, Knights and 
Dames of Magistral Grace. 

The Officials: The Prince and Grand Master (His Most 
Eminent Highness), The High Officers, The Grand 
Commander, The Grand Chancellor, The Grand Hospitaller, 
The Receiver of the Common Treasure (six councillors), The 
Government Council (six members), The Board of Auditors 
(Seven members), Cardinalis Patronus (His Eminence, 
Cardinal), The Prelate of the Order (His Excellency, 
Archbishop). 

The Regalia: The Knights have a modern out-of-door 
uniform, but on festival occasions they wear the full costume 
of the Order, Mantles of black velvet adorned with a large 
white Maltese Cross on the left shoulder, white crossed red 
tunics, hats with a white and black ostrich plume, knightly 
swords and golden spurred boots. 



239 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 



BIBLIOGRAPHY 
E. Kollias The Knights of Rhodes. 
T.H. Gilmour Knights of Malta, Ancient and Modern. 
W.L. Camillieri. Internet page: Knights of Malta. 
Sovereign Military Order of Malta Federal Association, U.S.A. 
Internet page. 

F.L. Scicluna Knights of Malta. 
Catholic Encyclopedia Knights of Malta. 

M.M. Trischitta The Knights of Malta, a Legend towards the 
future. 

P.P. Read The Templars 

Transactions of the Quatuor Coronati Lodge Vol. 14 - L. De 
Malczovich Knights of Malta Vol. 26 B W. J. C. Crawley The 
Templar Legends in Freemasonry 
Wikipedia encyclopedia Knights Hospitaller. Internet page. 



240 



Ionic Lodge No. 25 G.R.C. 

Historical Notes and Prominent Members 

By W. Bro. Paul Skazin 
The Heritage Lodge 
Cambridge, Ontario 
September 20, 2006 



Overview 

This paper has been compiled from articles and information 
provided by various members of Ionic Lodge No. 25, including the 
writer, and their families. Some information was derived from a 
book printed in 1899 covering the first 50 years of Ionic Lodge. 
There is only one known remaining copy of this book, however, its 
contents have been scanned and are available in digital format 
(contact the writer). Some of the graphics come from photographs 
of paintings hanging in a variety of locations and these are noted in 
the addendum. I acknowledge the efforts of R.W.Bro. John 
Boersma in soliciting articles from the membership of the Lodge 
and compiling backgrounds covering many not mentioned herein. 
Special mention must be given to Bro. Brian King who 
contributed the services of his investigation business, at 
considerable expense, to provide additional information on Bro. 
Alexander Dunn, much of which is only briefly reflected in the 
article herein. This information has been filed with Lodge archives. 

The paper commences with a Short History of Ionic Lodge 
continues with a section on the visit to Ionic Lodge in 1 890 by 
Queen Victoria's son, the Duke of Connaught, and ends with a 
articles on a selected number of prominent members of Ionic Lodge. 

241 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

A SHORT HISTORY OF IONIC LODGE, NO. 25 G.R.C. 

On July 6, 1 847, R. W.Bro. Allan Napier MacNab, Provincial 
Grand Master for the Province of Canada West, Acting under 
Thomas Dundas, Earl of Zetland, etc., etc., Grand Master of the Most 
Ancient and Honourable Fraternity of Free and Accepted Masons of 
England, granted his dispensation for the formation of The Ionic 
Lodge, to meet in the City of Toronto. 

The petitioners for the dispensation were: Francis Richardson, 
Chemist; Kivas Tully, Architect; Augustus Baldwin Sullivan, Clerk; 
Wm. Murdock Gorrie, Wharfinger; Chas. Thos. Fitzgibbon, 
Solicitor; Robert Wells, Engineer; James Keiller, Clerk; Wm. 
Botsford Jarvis, Sheriff; R.S. Deniord, Engineer; Alfred Hiram 
Coulson, Merchant; Matthew Craig, Builder; Charles Berzcy, 
Postmaster; Davidson Monroe Murray, Gentleman; William 
Williamson, Clerk; Richard Watson, Printer; Louis Wm. Dessauer, 
Artist; William Crewe, Physician. 

The first meeting of the Lodge was held July 8, 1 847, in the 
Lodge room in the upper story of the Wellington Buildings, on the 
north side of King Street, between Toronto and Church Streets. 

One early initiate of great note was Alexander Roberts Dunn, 
who won the Victoria Cross for gallantry in the Crimea, in the charge 
of the Light Brigade, the first Canadian to be awarded this honour. 

Perhaps the most memorable event of the first 50 years of Ionic's 
history was the visit to the Lodge on May 30, 1890 of H.R.H. (and 
Right Worshipful Bro.) the Duke of Connaught, the third son of 
Queen Victoria, later Governor General of Canada. 

On July 8, 1 897, the Lodge celebrated the 50th anniversary of its 
institution at a meeting that was honoured by the presence of 
R. W.Bro. Richardson, the first Master, M. W.Bro. Kivas Tully, the 
first S.W., and M.W. James Kirkpatrick Kerr, the first member of 
Ionic to hold the office of Grand Master (1875-77). In further 
celebration of the event a dinner was given at the National Club on 
November 12, 1897. 

On June 7, 1922, there was a simple, but impressive celebration 
of the 75th Anniversary. At the supper table afterwards, V. W.Bro. 
A.R. Boswell, K.C. (W.M., 1 871 and 1 873), presided. A cheque for 
$2,000 to endow the Ionic Memorial Cot was given to the Home for 
Incurable Children (now Bloorview McMillan Centre). 

The outbreak of war in 1939 naturally had its effect on the 

242 



IONIC LODGE No 25 HISTORICAL NOTES AND PROMINENT MEMBERS 

Lodge, and 36 brethren served with the forces. The Lodge lost one 
member on active service, Bro. Robert W. Harcourt, who was killed 
in a bombing raid. 

The Lodge attained its 100th anniversary in 1947 and this 
singular event was suitably celebrated. Among the special events was 
a meeting held on November 5, 1947, at which time the Lodge was 
honoured by the attendance of the M.W. the Grand Master, 
M.W.Bro. Thomas H. Simpson, A divine service was held on the 
evening of Sunday November 6, 1947, at St. James' Cathedral, 
conducted by the Dean, The Very Rev. Charles E. Riley, Chaplain of 
the Lodge. The sermon was given by The Most Rev. and R.W.Bro. 
George F. Kingston, a Past Master of Ionic Lodge and Primate of All 
Canada. The final event was a dinner held at the Toronto Club on 
November 20, 1947. 

The years 1947-75 were characterized by strong growth and 
development for Canada, while Ionic Lodge continued as a firm 
element in the Masonic structure. During this period, members of the 
Lodge gained prominence in business, in the professions and in 
government, and certain of them were privileged to serve the Crown 
as ministers of the Federal and Ontario Governments. One 
distinguished member, Bro. James Keiller Mackay, Q.C., was a 
Justice of the Supreme Court of Ontario from 1936 to 1957 and then 
served as Lieutenant-Governor of the Province from 1957 to 1963. 
V. W.Bro Dana Porter was Chief Justice of Ontario and presided over 
the Court of Appeal from 1958 until his death in 1967. 

Notable brethren of the last quarter of the century include 
R.W.Bro. Donald Fleming, who died in 1986 within months of his 
50th anniversary as a Mason, R.W.Bro. Allan Leal, and V.W.Bros A. 
Foster Roger, Arthur Bonney, and Douglas Betts, all attained Grand 
Lodge rank in these years; and R.W.Bro. C. Stephen Fox-Revett was 
elected D.D.G.M. for Toronto District 3 in 1984. 

The 150th Anniversary of the Lodge was celebrated on 
September 22, 1997 at which time a reception was held in the 
Lieutenant Governor's (the Honourable Hilary Weston) suite in 
Queens Park at which time a cheque was presented to Bloorview 
Macmillan Centre. Following the presentation a formal dinner was 
held at The Toronto Club with the keynote speech delivered by the 
Grand Master, M.W.Bro. William Anderson. 

Learning that H.R.H. the Duke of Connaught was returning to 

243 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

England from his Indian command, via Canada, W.Bro. G. Sterling 
Ryerson, then the W.M. of the Lodge, thought that some recognition 
of so distinguished a Mason should come before the Craft in 
Toronto. It was a happy thought, well conceived and promptly acted 
upon. While yet on his journey from the west, His Royal Highness 
received a personal invitation from the W.M. to meet the brethren 
during his brief stay in Toronto. It was at once graciously 
acknowledged and fraternally accepted. 

An emergent meeting was called for the evening of the May 30, 
1 890. Never before had the Toronto Street Hall witnessed such a 
gathering. At nine o'clock there were 700 brethren in and about the 
spacious Lodge room including Grand Lodge Officers, present and 
past, all the W.M.s of the city Lodges and nearly 130 past masters. 

The R. W.Bro. entered the Lodge, accompanied by V. W.Bro Col. 
V. F. Cavaye, P.G. Steward of the Grand Lodge of Bombay, and 
escorted by M. W.Bro. J. K. Kerr, P.G.M. of the G.L. of Canada; 
R. W.Bro. W. Roaf, D.D.G.M. Toronto District; R.W.Bro. F. M. 
Morson, G.R.,and R.W.Bro. G. J. Bennett, P.G.R. 

As the R.W.Bro. entered the Lodge, the brethren united in 
singing the first verse of the National Anthem. The R.W.Bro. 
advanced to the altar and saluted the W.M. with the sign of 
salutation. M. W.Bro. J. K. Kerr then presented R.W.Bro. H.R.H. the 
Duke of Connaught, Provincial Grand Master of Sussex and District 
Grand Master of Bombay to the W.M. W.Bro. Ryerson. then 
addressed the R.W.Bro. who remained standing at the altar in part as 
follows: 

We welcome your Royal Highness as the brother and 
representative of H.R.H. the M.W. the Grand Master of England, of 
whom it is needless for me to say more than that we honour him as 
a man and as the first officer of the first Grand Lodge of the greatest 
Empire the world has ever seen. And further, we welcome you as the 
son of our beloved sovereign lady the Queen, whose public and 
private virtues make her a model among women, a constitutional 
ruler, a true and faithful wife, a loving and devoted mother. She will 
ever reign in the hearts of her people, and generations yet unborn 
will tell their children's children of the golden days when there 
reigned in England the great and good Victoria May God Save the 
Queen. 

The W.M. then requested the R. W.Bro. to advance to the east. 

244 



IONIC LODGE No 25 HISTORICAL NOTES AND PROMINENT MEMBERS 

The R.W.Bro. advanced to the east and assumed the gavel, and by 
direction of the W.M. the assembled brethren saluted the royal visitor 
with the grand honours. 

The W.M. of the Lodge addressing the R.W.Bro. asked if it was 
his pleasure to receive an address from the brethren. The R.W.Bro. 
signified his desire to have the address presented (in part) as follows: 
May it please your Royal Highness, we the District Deputy Grand 
Master of the 11th Masonic District, officers of Grand Lodge, 
Masters of Lodges in the City of Toronto, and brethren under the 
jurisdiction of the Grand Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons of 
Canada, beg permission to tender our sincere congratulations on your 
safe return to this country. 

We hold your Royal Highness in loving remembrance as a 
soldier serving Her Majesty in our midst, and we recall the historical 
Act that the only other royal personage who has so served in Canada 
was your grandfather, his late Royal Highness the Duke of Kent, and 
that he like yourself was an enthusiastic Mason and a distinguished 
member of the Craft. 

We deeply regret that your stay among us is to be of such short 
duration as not to permit of your Royal Highness taking an active 
interest in the affairs of the Grand Lodge of Canada. 

Nothing has been more noteworthy than the distinguished 
service rendered to the Craft by the members of the Royal family, 
from the time of the union of the Grand Lodges of England in 1813 
under His Royal Highness the Duke of Sussex down to the present 
day. We recognize in the distinguished person of the Grand Master 
of England, H.R.H. the Prince of Wales, a Mason in act as well as in 
word, and feel that no Grand Master who has preceded him has filled 
that great office with more dignity and shown more zeal for the 
welfare of the Craft. 

The R.W.Bro. replied to the address as follows: I thank you for 
the magnificent reception you have given me, far surpassing anything 
I had anticipated, and which I will cherish as one of the most pleasant 
recollections of my trip through Canada. I attribute this great 
gathering of the brethren to a desire on their part to manifest their 
feeling towards the Queen, my beloved mother, to my brother the 
Grand Master, and as a tribute to the interest I have always taken in 
the Craft. 1 represent, I believe, more than any other brother Mason 
the Imperial idea in Masonry, holding at present the offices of 

245 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

Provincial Grand Master of Sussex, District Grand Master of 
Bombay and Great Prior of Ireland. 

It is now nineteen years since I became a member of the Craft, 
and I have never forgotten the impression made on me when I was 
initiated. The fraternity is a noble one, whose influence is ever 
extending, and in whose ranks the brethren meet on a common plane 
of equality and brotherly love. In the old lad the support of the 
Masonic charitable institutions, and the care given by the Craft to 
those who need, show the great principles on which the order is 
founded to be relief and charity. 

It is pleasing to learn of the loyalty of the brethren in Canada. I 
will long remember this visit and your magnificent reception, and 
when I reach home I will take an early opportunity of conveying 
your expressions of good- will to the Queen and the Grand Master. I 
thank you most warmly, Worshipful Sir, for this great demonstration. 

At the W.M's request the Grand Lodge officers and the W.M. 
and P.M.s present withdrew from the Lodge in order that they might 
be presented to His Royal Highness. 

The reception took place in the adjoining chapter room. The 
presentations were made by R. W.Bro. W. Roaf, D.D.G.M., the royal 
brother acknowledging each introduction with a cordial handshake. 
At the close of the ceremony the brethren formed a circle, and, with 
R. W.Bro. Wm. Simpson, of St. John's Lodge leading, united in 
singing Auld Lang Syne, H.R.H. joining in the fraternal chain at the 
close, with evident pleasure. On retiring the distinguished brother 
was saluted with three loyal ringing cheers, and an occasion at once 
important and memorable came to an end. 

SOME PROMINENT MEMBERS 
R.W.Bro. Francis Richardson (1814-1898) 

Chemist and druggist. The first Master of Ionic Lodge in 1847. 
Also W.M. 1848, 1850, 1851 and 1862.. 

He had not seen his 30th year when, in 1842 he sailed from his 
native town Plymouth where in March of the same year he had 
received his Master Mason's degree. After a voyage of 45 days he 
landed at Quebec, and thence journeyed to Toronto by the Ottawa 
and Kingston route. On his arrival he promptly affiliated with St. 
Andrew's Lodge, where his abilities were at once recognized, and in 
a short time he became its active W.M. Later he was selected for the 
important position of Provincial Grand Secretary, and as vigilantly 

246 



IONIC LODGE No 25 HISTORICAL NOTES AND PROMINENT MEMBERS 

as he conducted his own commercial business, so too he guarded the 
interests of the Craft. Ionic Lodge was formed, and over that young 
organization's first two years of life he paternally watched as its 
Master. 

He was made a Royal Arch Mason in St. John's Chapter. No. 4, 
and subsequently was active and prominent in Ionic and St. Andrew's 
Chapters, over both of which he presided. In April 1853, he was 
knighted in Hugh de Payens Encampment of Knights Templars at 
Kingston, his conductor during the ceremony being Rt. Hon. Sir John 
A. MacDonald, then a practicing lawyer in the Limestone City. In the 
same year Bro. Richardson presided at the laying of the corner stone 
of the courthouse at Whitby, and was presented with a silver trowel. 

In July 1858 he was elected Grand Registrar and in January 
following, upon the resignation of R. W.Bro. F. W. Cumberland, 
D.D.G.M., Toronto District, who was about to leave for Europe, was 
appointed to succeed him. In July 1859, he was elected to same 
office by the Lodges of the district. As D.D.G.M. his characteristic 
energy did much to advance the work of the Craft, and his mature 
advice and extensive knowledge of men and events were much 
sought after during the trying, period when the fraternity was so 
divided on the question of independence from the Grand Lodge of 
England. 

M.W.Bro. Kivas Tully (1820-1905) 

Retired from St. Andrews Lodge in 1 847 to become a Charter 
member of Ionic Lodge. He was the first Senior Warden. He retired 
from Ionic Lodge in 1849 to become Charter Master of King 
Solomon 22. He was an ardent advocate of Masonic independence 
and therefore he and many others did not believe in multiple Lodge 
memberships. 

In October 1 853 Kivas Tully gave notice of a motion that the 
P.G.L. should petition the Grand Lodge of England for permission 
for the Lodges to form themselves into an independent Grand Lodge. 
In May 1854 the Provincial Grand Secretary (Francis Richardson) 
was instructed to write to England noting that no acknowledgment 
had been received of either of the petition or of the money, which 
had been sent for charters and certificates. Finally, on September 25, 
1855 the reply was issued. A special committee of the Board of 
General Purposes in London reported on the Canadian requests. It 
gave its opinion that the expediency and propriety of rejecting or 

247 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

complying with the prayer therefore rests with the M.W. Grand 
Master. The reply came too late and it said too little. The patience of 
the Canadian Brethren had been exhausted and the Grand Lodge of 
Canada was formed in November 1 855. Bro. Tully was a member of 
the joint committee appointed in 1 857 to promote the union between 
the Ancient Grand Lodge, formerly the Provincial Grand Lodge of 
Canada West, and the then recently formed independent Grand 
Lodge of Canada. 

Kivas Tully was a structural engineer and architect of many 
public buildings. Alderman and Councilor of the City of Toronto in 
1 852 and 1859; appointed Architect and Engineer of Public Works 
for the Province of Ontario in 1 867; member of St. George's Church 
and churchwarden 1855. Of his many important works we mention 
Trinity College, Bank of Montreal building (now Hockey Hall of 
Fame) located at the northeast corner of Yonge and Front streets 
The Welland County Court House, built in 1 855-1856 and Victoria 
Hall in Cobourg built in 1 860. He was regarded as one of Canada's 
leading architects and is noted for his pleasing proportions found 
in all of his designs. His name is familiar wherever the growth of the 
province has made the erection of great public buildings necessary. 
Bro. Alexander Roberts Dunn, V.C. (1833-1868) 

Initiated in Ionic Lodge by special dispensation on December 1 6, 
1856.. His father was the Honourable V.W.Bro. John Henry Dunn, 
Receiver General of Upper Canada. 

Bro. Dunn was educated at Upper Canada College and Harrow 
England. He was a member of the 11th Prince Albert's Own 
Regiment of Light Dragoons in the British army. He helped organize 
the 1 1 0th (Prince of Wales Royal Canadian) Regiment of Foot, a 
British unit raised in Canada. He later became its commanding 
officer in Gibraltar. In 1 852, he served in the Crimean War during 
which the 21 -year-old lieutenant made history on October 25, 1 854. 

On that blood-drenched day, the 1 1th galloped against Russian 
guns at Balaclava in the now renowned Charge of the Light Brigade. 
A non-commissioned officer riding a slow and exhausted mount 
began falling behind. The straggler's comrades began shouting, 
Sergeant Bentley's cut off. In the chaos of battle, Bro. Dunn turned 
his charger back to rescue the sergeant, who was being pressed by 
three Russian dragoons (heavily armed mounted troopers). The rest 
of the brigade raced on, leaving Bro. Dunn, alone, to spur his horse 

248 



IONIC LODGE No 25 HISTORICAL NOTES AND PROMINENT MEMBERS 

toward the first dragoon and sabre him out of the saddle, giving 
Bentley time to escape. 

Bro. Dunn was awarded the Victoria Cross, Britain's highest 
medal For Valour. The Order was instituted on January 29, 1 856. 
Brother Alexander Dunn was one of the first recipients and the first 
Canadian-born man to be so honoured. 

He served in the Indian Mutiny in 1 857 and later commanded the 
1 00th or Prince of Wales, Canadian regiment. Subsequent service 
took him to Gibraltar, Malta and Abyssinia (Ethiopia now Eritrea). 
In 1 864, at the age of 3 1 , he was promoted to colonel, the youngest 
in the British Army. On January 25th 1 868 he met with death, while 
on a hunting trip in Senafe Abyssinia, due to the accidental discharge 
of his own rifle. 

The following is a quote from the Kingston Whig-Standard, 
submitted by Jim MacMillan, February 21, 2001. Troops bring 
dignity back to war hero f s grave, by Sharon Lindores: 

Senafe, Eritrea - In a tiny ramshackle graveyard, tucked behind 
an African hospital in ruins, lies the grave of a great Canadian hero. 
In 1856, Alexander Robert Dunn was the first Canadian to earn a 
Victoria Cross.This past weekend troops on a United Nations 
peacekeeping mission in Ethiopia and Eritrea cleaned up the decrepit 
site. It was really gross said Lt. Earl Maher, who sent 1 3 troops to do 
the job. The graveyard wasn't looked after at all. The soldiers 
removed goat skulls, bones and excrement. I think the locals must 
have used it as an animal pen until the wall around the graveyard fell 
down. The soldiers, all engineers from CFB Gagetown in New 
Brunswick, spent an entire day at the site. 

Twenty-five wheelbarrows full of garbage and debris were 
cleared away. The stonewall that encompasses the handful of graves 
in the yard is fixed, the wrought iron gate freshly painted and the 
cross that had broken of Dunn's tombstone once again in place. It 
was a mark of respect for someone who won the Victoria Cross, said 
Maher, a Queen's University grad. The abandoned graveside was 
discovered around Christmas by Maj. Steve Beattie, a British 
Exchange officer based at CFB Kingston who was helping the UN 
peacekeeping mission. A bit of a history buff, Beattie knew when he 
saw the grave that Dunn was an important figure. The chief of 
defense Staff, the minister of national defence and the deputy chief 
of defence all recently visited the site. Ottawa is involved and they're 

249 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

interested in possibly exhuming the body and repatriating it back to 
Canada, Maher said. For the time being Dunn can rest in peace in the 
small town of Senafe, in the temporary security zone being 
established between Ethiopia and Eritrea. 

M.W.Bro. James Kirkpatrick Kerr (1841-1916) 

Barrister. M.W.Bro. Kerr was initiated into Ionic Lodge in the 
fall of 1863 and was installed as Secretary in December 1863. The 
following December he was installed as Junior Warden and in 
December 1 865 as Master, a position he held for two years. In 1 870 
he was elected District Deputy Grand Master. 

He was elected Deputy Grand Master in 1874 and became 
Acting Grand Master after the death of M.W.Bro. William Mercer 
Wilson in January 1875. In July of 1875 at the Annual 
Communication of the Grand Lodge of Canada held in London 
Ontario, he was elected Grand Master. 

He was appointed to the Senate of Canada by Wilfred Laurier 
on March 1 2, 1 903 and was Speaker of the Senate from Jan. 1 4, 
1909 to Oct. 22, 191 1 . He served until his death in 1916. 

Also refer Heritage Lodge Proceedings Vol. 8, 1984-1985 
wherein Wallace McLeod introduced Allan Leal, who gave an 
elaborate speech about James Kirkpatrick Kerr. 

W.Bro. Sir William Dillon Otter (1843-1929) 

Initiated in Ionic in February 1869; installed as Master in 1873. 
Retired February 5, 1878. Rejoined July 1, 1920. William Dillon 
Otter was the son of Alfred William Otter and Anna de la Hooke, he 
was born on December 3, 1843 near Clinton, Upper Canada. His 
father was a farmer in the area but subsequently moved to Toronto. 
He was educated at Upper Canada College. In 1865, he married 
Marian Porter, they had one daughter. 

William Otter is often regarded as Canada's first professional 
soldier. In 1861 'clerk' Otter entered the volunteer militia. The year 
1 864 saw him commissioned in the Queen's Own Rifles. He fell in 
love with the military way of life, served initially as a rifleman and 
quickly progressed to the rank of Staff Sergeant. He first saw active 
service in the Fenian Raids of 1 866 at the Battle of Ridgeway, where 
the Canadians squandered an easy victory due to confusion in 
commands. Upon his promotion in 1875, Lieutenant Colonel Otter 
assumed command of The Queen's Own Rifles. The permanent 
force's School of Infantry, in Toronto was under his command from 

250 



IONIC LODGE No 25 HISTORICAL NOTES AND PROMINENT MEMBERS 

1883 to 1889. 

From his pen came the infantry manual, The Guide, which 
became an indispensable soldier's handbook and went into many 
editions. During the Riel Rebellion of 1885 he was sent to the N.W. 
Territories to assist General Frederick Middleton. Upon news of the 
murder of white settlers at Frog Lake, he was placed in charge of a 
column to relieve the town of Battleford and surrounding areas from 
the threat of Indian attack. 

In 1897 he headed the Canadian contingent for Queen Victoria's 
Diamond Jubilee. 

In 1 899, at the time of the Boer War, Otter took the first 
Canadian contingent, The Royal Canadian Regiment, to South 
Africa. It consisted of eight 125 men units. Although untrained, Otter 
formed them into a fighting unit within 3 months. He was wounded 
and was created C.B. (Companion Order of the Bath.) 

Otter had a no nonsense, no frills approach to soldiering, his 
convictions set by his memory of young militiamen fleeing in panic 
at Ridgeway. He was grimly determined that Canadian troops would 
not again fall into disarray on the battlefield. Upon him rested the 
responsible for drilling and disciplining Canadian troops in South 
Africa, ensuring they were equals to the British regulars. Many 
British officers considered the 2nd Battalion, Royal Canadian 
Regiment of Infantry to be the best in South Africa. 
Otter was the first Canadian-born Chief of Staff of Canada's military 
(1908 -1910). During World War I he was Director of Internment 
Operations of enemy nationals resident in Canada He was knighted 
in 1913 and retired in 1920 as General Sir William Otter KCMG, 
CVO, CB.(Knight Commander St Michael & St George, 
Commander Royal Victorian Order.) 

Bro. Sir William Mulock (1844-1944) 

Initiated in Ionic Lodge on April 22, 1869. Born January 19, 
1 844, at Bondhead, Upper Canada, died in Toronto, October 1 , 1 944. 
Son of Thomas Homan Mulock M.D., a native of King's County, 
Ireland, and Mary, daughter of John Cawthra, a member of the Upper 
Canada legislature. William was 7 when his father died and his 
mother raised him on a farm she bought near Newmarket. She 
decided that William should be a lawyer like many of the men in 
her family and he was sent to study at the University of Toronto. 
After graduation, he worked as a junior in a law office for $80 a 

251 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

year and got a job as a housemaster at Upper Canada College to 
earn enough money to live. 

In 1 867 he was called to the bar. He practiced Law in Toronto 
and entered politics as a liberal representing North York in the 
Canadian House of Commons, 1 882-1905. On the formation of (Sir) 
Wilfred Laurier's Ministry of all Talents in 1 896, he was appointed 
postmaster general. In 1 898 he introduced a two-cent postage rate 
from Canada to all parts of the British Empire. He was active in 
negotiations leading to the laying of the Pacific cable in 1 902 to 
complete the all red-line of empire communications. He held his 
portfolio until 1905, serving as Canada's first minister of Labour, 
1900-05. In organizing the Labour Department he introduced W, L. 
Mackenzie King to public life as his deputy minister. Appointed 
Chief Justice of the Exchequer Court of Ontario, 1905: of the Court 
of Appeal 1923; retired 1936. A senator from the University of 
Toronto from 1873, he served as vice-chancellor, 1881-1900; and 
chancellor, 1924-1944. 

A legendary figure in his own lifetime, he retained in his 
hundredth year an amazing possession of his faculties. When he died 
on October 1, 1944, his death was described as the fall of a mighty 
oak that had towered above all others for longer than most people 
could remember, he was 1 1 and considered the Grand Old Man of 
Canada. Prime Minister Mackenzie King said, He will be 
remembered as being among the makers of Canada. 
V.W.Bro. Dr. Gen. George Ansel Sterling Ryerson M.D., PGSD 

(1854-1925) 

Master Ionic No. 25 in 1880. He was the first President of the 
Canadian Red Cross Society. In his memoirs Ryerson wrote The 
Red Cross Flag was first flown in Canada during the battle of 
Batoche, May 9-12, 1885. Batoche, Saskatchewan, was a post 
office at the side of a Metis Village where Louis Riel established 
his Head Quarters during the rebellion of 1885. Here, the main 
engagement took place between the Metis forces under Gabriel 
Dumont and the militia under General Middleton. Ryerson decided 
that the horse drawn springwagon, used as a makeshift ambulance, 
should have some mark to distinguish it from other wagons. He 
therefore borrowed some turkey red factory cotton from the 
artillery column, cut it into two strips, and stitched them unto a 
white square. That flag is part of the John Ross Robertson 

252 



IONIC LODGE No 25 HISTORICAL NOTES AND PROMINENT MEMBERS 

collection at the Toronto Public Library. 

W.Bro. Sir Allan Bristol Aylesworth (1854-1952) 

Barrister, Initiated in Ionic Lodge on February 1, 1887. 
Installed as Master December 3, 1895. The son of John Bell 
Aylesworth and Catharine Bristol; of United Empire Loyalist 
descent. 

W.Bro. Aylesworth was born in Camden Township, Upper 
Canada on November 27, 1 854. He achieved prominence when he 
was appointed postmaster General of Canada in 1 905. He served as 
minister of Labour in the Laurier Cabinet in 1 905 and as minister 
of Justice from 1906 to 191 1. In the early 1900s, he was part of a 
Commission that argued the Alaskan/Canadian boundaries. In 
1910, he acted as British Agent in the North American Coast 
Fisheries arbitration at The Hague. For that service he received a 
Knighthood and became Sir Allen Bristol Aylesworth K.C.M.G. 
(Knight Commander of St Michael and St George). 

He nominated Mackenzie King for the leadership of the Liberal 
Party, resulting in King later becoming Prime Minister of Canada. 
He was called to the Canadian Senate in 1 923 where he served until 
February 13, 1952, when he passed to the Grand Lodge Above. 
M.W.Bro. Frederick Weir Harcourt G.M. (1856-1939) 

Barrister. Initiated in Ionic May 7, 1889; W.M. Ionic 1898. 
G.M. 1919-1921. In his first report to Grand Lodge he noted an 
unprecedented increase in membership with 9,000 initiations. May 
I sound a note of warning? he said to Masters and Members of 
every Lodge, Guard your portals with unremitting diligence. Do 
not admit any applicant without first making the most careful 
investigation. Remember, one black sheep may taint the whole 
flock. Such is your duty to the Craft. He reported that the Grand 
Secretary had compiled a new digest of rulings; that John Ross 
Robertson's Masonic Library had been handed to him and he had 
arranged for it to be kept safe in the Toronto Masonic Temple. 

He maintained a hectic pace of hundreds of visitations, 
explaining that it is the right of every Lodge, some time during its 
existence, to have a visit from the Grand Master. Harcourt Lodge 
No. 581, GRC - established in 1921 - was named after him 
Bro. Lt. Col. John Keiller Mackay (1888-1970) 

Initiated in Ionic Lodge in 1925. He, was born on July 11, 1888, 
in Pictou, N.S., educated at the Royal Military College of Canada 

253 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

and earned his B.A. in 1912 at St. Francis Xavier University. His 
LLB was earned at Dalhousie University. Serving overseas in World 
War I, he rose to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel and commanded the 
6th Brigade C.F.A., in 1916. From 191 7 to 1918 he commanded the 
MacKay Group of three mobile brigades of artillery. Twice wounded 
and three times mentioned in dispatches, he won the D.S.O. 
(Distinguished Service Order). 

Called to the bar of Nova Scotia in 1922 and Ontario in 1923 
(K.C. 1933). Bro Mackay practiced law in Toronto and became a 
specialist in criminal law. He was appointed a judge of the Ontario 
Supreme Court in 1935 and of the Provincial Court of Appeal in 
1950 and was appointed Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, in 1957. 

R.W.Bro. Major C. Stephen Fox-Revett, CD, KCLJ, GOMLJ, 
chairman of the window committee of St Andrews Presbyterian 
Church, addressed a large congregation gathered for the dedication 
of a commemorative window at St Andrew's church The Order of St 
Lazarus is Military, and Hospitaler. Many of us are no longer too 
military: we are more like Don Quixote than Sir Galahad. Our blades 
are rusty. Lt. Col. John Mackay DSO, filled the military portion of 
our Order perfectly, as he was a distinguished artillery hero in the 
first world war. As a renowned student of Shakespeare, the Bible and 
Robert Burns, he was a typical Victorian courtier with great charm 
and wit. He joined Ionic Lodge No. 25 G.R.C. in 1925, and was a 
staunch supporter of Masonry until his death in 1 970. He lived his 
life according to the Masonic Rule and Line and harmonized his 
conduct by the principles of morality and virtue. To make his office 
more representative of the community, he appointed the first Jewish 
Aide de Camp in Canada, if not the British Empire, Col. the Hon. 
Barry Shapiro who is present, as is Mrs. Anne Lazare Mirvish, a 
close friend of the Mackays whose wonderful Bust of Keiller is on 
display in the Community Hall 

Bro. Edward Earle Shouldice (1890-1965) 

Surgeon, affiliated with Ionic in 1 93 1 . As a student physician, he 
was initiated in University Lodge No. 496 on Jan. 22, 1914. 

He was born Oct. 3, 1 890, in Chesley, Ontario. His parents sent 
him to Victoria College, Toronto, in 1910 to study for the ministry. 
Dutifully, he followed this course for an unhappy year, but finally he 
persuaded his family to let him enroll in the medical course at the 
University of Toronto in 1911. He was graduated in 1916 and went 

254 



IONIC LODGE No 25 HISTORICAL NOTES AND PROMINENT MEMBERS 

overseas in the Army in 1918, returning a year later with the rank of 
Captain. 

Dr Shouldice established a medical practice in Toronto on his 
return and was appointed lecturer in anatomy at the University of 
Toronto. He remained affiliated with the University for 27 years. He 
had a disconcerting habit of introducing methods of treating patients, 
which upset time-honored theories and those faculty members who 
adamantly adhered to those theories. 

As late as the 1 930's, a person whose appendix had ruptured was 
in danger of dying from general peritonitis through dehydration. Dr 
Shouldice reasoned and proved that introduction of normal saline 
into the body of a person suffering from peritonitis would prevent 
that person's death. Today, the use of normal saline given 
intravenously is standard practice in hospitals. He pioneered in the 
cure of pernicious anemia, in research on intestinal obstruction, in 
operations to ease pressure in hydrocephalic cases and in his two 
greatest achievements: early ambulation (getting the patient up soon 
after an operation, and his world-renowned techniques for hernia 
repair. 

World War II set the stage for Dr Shouldice's second great 
achievement. From 1940 to 1945 he was consulting surgeon for the 
Army. The Army was rejecting many young men who were 
otherwise physically fit because they needed hernia repair. Dr 
Shouldice volunteered his operative services and a close friend, 
Charles Rathgeb, offered to pay hospital expenses for these recruits 
through the Red Cross. The patients were up and around constantly 
and had the clips removed from their incisions 24 to 48 hours after 
the operations. 

By the time the war ended in 1945, a large number persons had 
requested hernia repair and these patients were waiting but local 
hospitals were filled with war casualties. Dr Shouldice wanted 
facilities where he could improve his hernia repair technique. The 
solution was to establish his own hospital and shortly before he left 
the Army in 1945, a nursing home at 626 Church Street appeared for 
sale. An operating room was set up in an altered bedroom. In 1953, 
the 135-acre Thornhill estate of the late George McCullough, a 
Toronto newspaper publisher, was purchased and remodeled as a 
second hospital. 

World-wide recognition of Dr Shouldice's contributions to 

255 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

medicine came during the 20 years after the founding of the 
Surgery. He was invited to lecture and demonstrate his technique 
for hernia repair throughout the world. What began as a small six- 
bed surgical centre in downtown Toronto has grown, out of demand, 
into a unique, specialized, world referral centre, with 89 beds and 
five operating rooms staffed by 10 surgeons. Over 300,000 hernias 
have been repaired. More than 7,000 hernia patients are treated every 
year. 

V.W.Bro. The Hon. Dana H. Porter (1901-1967). 

Initiated in Ionic 1928. V.W.Bro. Porter was installed as Master 
of Ionic Lodge in December 1941. He was appointed Grand Senior 
Deacon in 1952. Dana Porter was born in Toronto on January 14, 
1901 . The son of Dr George D Porter, medical director of Harthouse 
and Lena Harris, he was educated at the University of Toronto (B.A. 
1921) and at Balliol College, Oxford (M.A. 1923). He was called to 
the Ontario Bar in 1 926 and was a member of the Law Firm of 
Fennel, Porter & Davis, where he specialized in litigation, until 1 944. 

Entering politics as a Conservative, he represented the 
constituents of Toronto St George in the Ontario Legislature for five 
consecutive terms and was, for 1 4 years, an influential member of the 
Provincial cabinet. 

Bro. Porter served under three Premiers as: Minister of Planning 
and Development 1944-1948; Minister of Education 1948-1951; 
Provincial Secretary 1948-1949; Attorney-General 1949-1955 and 
Treasurer of Ontario 1955-1958. Prime Minister John Diefenbaker 
appointed him Chief Justice of the Court of Appeal for Ontario on 
February 1, 1958. In 1947 he instituted, in the face of objection from 
Ottawa, the airlift that brought 10,000 British immigrants to the 
Province. In 1 950, he introduced the Bill that legalized Sunday sports 
in Ontario. In 1 953 he received the B'nai B'rith Humanitarian Award. 
He headed the Royal Commission on Banking and Finance from 
1961 to 1964. 

In 1964 he delivered the judgment that lifted the ban on the 
notorious novel Fanny Hill, by John Cleland (1709-1789). Bro. 
Porter was installed as First Chancellor of the University of Waterloo 
in June 1960 where the Library is named in his honour. 
R.W.Bro. Donald Methuen Fleming (1905-1986 

R. W.Bro. Fleming was born in Exeter, Ont son of Louis Charles 
Fleming and Maud Margaret Wright. He received his early education 

256 



IONIC LODGE No 25 HISTORICAL NOTES AND PROMINENT MEMBERS 

in Gait, where his father taught mathematics at Gait Collegiate 
Institute and from which he graduated, at 1 6, after winning the first 
Carter Scholarship for Waterloo County. He came to Toronto that 
same year, 1921, as a student in Arts at University of Toronto. He 
won the Alexander MacKenzie Scholarship in Political Science in 
both his second and third years, thus establishing two more firsts. He 
graduated in Arts in 1 925 as a winner of the highest award in that 
faculty, namely the Governor-General's Gold Medal for General 
Proficiency, and he was also awarded the Breuls Gold Medal for 
Political Science. Mr. Fleming then enrolled at Osgoode Hall Law 
School, and after winning two more scholarships, in 1926 and 1927 
respectively, graduated from there in 1928 with the Silver Medal and 
the Christopher Robinson Memorial Scholarship. 

He was called to the Ontario Bar in 1928 (K.C. 1944), served on 
City Council, The Board of Trade and The Board of Education.. A 
Conservative in politics was elected in 1945 to represent Toronto- 
Eglinton in the Canadian House of Commons and retained that seat 
in succeeding elections, including the election of June 1957, 
following which he joined the Diefenbaker Cabinet as minister of 
Finance. Bro. Fleming was a contender for the party leadership in 
1948 and 1956. He was active in the YMCA and was Trustee of the 
Toronto General Hospital, a director of the Canadian National 
Exhibition and a Senator of the University of Toronto. In 1933 he 
married Alice Mildred, daughter of William C. Watson of Toronto. 
They had two sons and one daughter. 

He was initiated in Ionic Lodge in 1937 and was installed as 
Master in 1952. He was strictly opposed to any kind of 
discrimination, once giving members of the Lodge a choice between 
his presence or blackballing a candidate. 

R.W.Bro. Herbert Allan Borden Leal O.C. Q.C. (1917-1999) 

R.W.Bro. H. Allan Leal was born on June 12, 1917 in Beloeil, 
Quebec and married the former Muriel Clemens on March 21,1 942. 

A very active man, his hobbies were sailing, fishing, golf and 
skiing. This dominance of sporting activities is no surprise when it 
is realized that Allan went to McMaster University on an Ontario 
Hockey Association scholarship, where he played defence and was 
a team captain in 1940. He also played football for McMaster and 
was a member of its 1940 championship squad. He was also a 
member of the 1938 boxing team and won the inter-collegiate heavy 

257 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

weight title in that sport and is a charter member of McMaster's 
sports Hall of Fame. 

One of two Ontario Rhodes Scholars in 1 940, Bro. Leal attended 
Osgoode Hall and was called to the bar in 1948. He received his 
LL.M at the Law School of Harvard University. He has received 
honorary degrees from McMaster, York, Dalhousie, and the 
University of Western Ontario, and was made McMaster's 
Chancellor in 1977. 

The list of Bro. LeaPs professional positions and activities is 
vast, suffice it to say he has been: Lecturer, Professor and Dean of 
Osgoode Hall Law School; member and vice-chairman of the 
Ontario Law Reform Commission; special advisor to the Premier on 
constitutional matters. He served with distinction with the Royal 
Canadian Artillery in WWII and retired with the rank of Captain. He 
is a member of the Order of Canada and was made an Officer of that 
prestigious and distinguished body. 

Masonically, Allan Leal was initiated, passed and raised in Ionic 
Lodge No. 25 G.R.C. in 1952 and was installed as Master in 1966. 
He was a member of the Board of General Purposes from 1 970 
through to 1976. During the years 1972-1979 he served on a very 
important committee of Grand Lodge, charged with the reviewing 
and rewriting of the Book of Constitution. A task in which his well 
trained and highly skilled legal mind was of great value to our craft. 
Anyone who has done a comparison of the present and previous 
versions of the Book of Constitution realizes that the committee has 
done its task well. 

R.W.Bro. C. Stephen Fox-Revett (1922-2005) 

Initiated in Ionic on March 5, 1958. Installed as Master in 1972. 
In 1984 the Brethren of Toronto District 3 elected him their 
D.D.G.M. 

Stephen was born in England on May 21,1 922, went to the USA 
in 1929 and lived in Chicago and San Francisco until 1933 when he 
came with his father to Canada. His mother had died in California. 
He was educated at St. Andrew's College and Jarvis Collegiate. 
Wrote his senior matriculation (Grade XIII) exams in uniform and 
left with the active army immediately afterwards as a gunner. He 
received his commission in 1 943 and proceeded overseas to England, 
Italy, France and other parts of Europe. After the war he continued 
serving with the Militia while attending university. In the summer of 

258 



IONIC LODGE No 25 HISTORICAL NOTES AND PROMINENT MEMBERS 

1947 he hitch-hiked across Canada and the Peace River District 
where he traded furs and hides with the Indians. Years later he was 
trading cocoa beans, again with the natives, but this time in West 
Africa where he survived two revolutions in what is now Ghana 

On returning to Canada he joined the Export Division of 
Coleman Lamp & Stove and for five years traveled the Caribbean, 
Mexico and South America. He married in 1952 and raised four 
children. Fifty years later he and Joan boast of eleven grandchildren. 
He passed to the Grand Lodge Above Saturday, February 19, 2005. 
At the time of his death he was still practicing real estate and was 
actively involved with the Order of St. Lazarus, Ionic Lodge, the 
Royal Canadian Legion, Trinity College and Christ Church Deer 
Park. He was an Aide-de-camp to six Lieutenant Governors of 
Ontario. 

Conclusion 

It can be concluded from this presentation that many 
prominent, high achieving individuals have embraced 
Masonry and have found its tenants and principles of value. 

These Brethren despite obviously busy schedules and 
heavy responsibilities outside the Craft found time, in many 
instance, to be very active contributing Masons. 

We should look to their example for inspiration and 
recognize the great value that Masonry brings to the world at 
large and the fraternity in particular. 



259 



OUR DEPARTED BRETHREN 

We have been notified of the following members 
who have passed to the Grand Lodge Above 



GORDON ROBERT BRITTAIN 

Toronto 

Georgina Lodge No. 343 

Passed to the Grand Lodge Above March 7, 2006 

CHARLES G. COP ELAND 

Weston 

Kilwinning Lodge No. 565 

Passed to the Grand Lodge Above February 25, 2006 

KENNETH GEORGE CRAWLEY 

Scarborough 

Riverdale John Ross Robertson Lodge No. 494 

Passed to the Grand Lodge Above May 10, 2006 



DOUGLAS ARTHUR DALE 

Kingston 

Royal Edward Lodge No. 585 

Passed to the Grand Lodge Above April 1, 2006 



We give thanks for the privilege of knowing them 
and sharing in their lives 



260 



OUR DEPARTED BRETHREN 

We have been notified of the following members 
who have passed to the Grand Lodge Above 



ARNOLD BRIAN GEORGE 

Cayuga 

Fort William Lodge No. 415 

Passed to the Grand Lodge Above October 27, 2005 



WILLIAM LEONARD McNEIL 

Milton 

Melita Lodge No. 605 

Passed to the Grand Lodge Above March 22, 2005 



GORDON ARTHUR MONK 

Minden 

Arcadia Lodge No. 440 

Passed to the Grand Lodge Above September 18, 2006 



WARREN OTTO MULACK 

Sudbury 

Espanola Lodge No. 527 

Passed to the Grand Lodge Above September 7, 2005 



We give thanks for the privilege of knowing them 
and sharing in their lives 



261 



OUR DEPARTED BRETHREN 

We have been notified of the following members 
who have passed to the Grand Lodge Above 



JOHN HAROLD JAMES 
SAUNDERS 

Mississauga 

Georgina Lodge No. 343 

Passed to the Grand Lodge Above October 18, 2005 

FLOYD WALKER 

Lakefield 

Richmond Hill Lodge No. 23 

Passed to the Grand Lodge Above October 6, 2005 

CHARLES HENRY WATSON 

Caledon East 

Cathedral Lodge No. 643 

Passed to the Grand Lodge Above January 5, 2006 

GEORGE PERCIVAL ROBERT 

WEBSTER 

Scarborough 

St. Aidan's Lodge No. 567 

Passed to the Grand Lodge Above September 18, 2006 



We give thanks for the privilege of knowing them 
and sharing in their lives 



262 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 




PAST MASTERS 

1978 Jacob Pos 

1979 K. Flynn*t 

1980 Donald G. S. Grinton 

1981 Ronald E. Groshaw 

1982 George E. Zwicker f 

1983 Balfour Le Gresley 

1984 David C. Bradley 

1985 C. Edwin Drew 

1986 Robert S. Throop 

1987 Albert A. Barker 

1988 Edsel C. Steen f 

1989 Edmund V. Ralph 

1990 Donald B. Kaufman 

1991 Wilfred T. Greenhough f 

1992 Frank G. Dunn 

1993 Stephen H. Maizels 

1994 David G. Fletcher 

1995 Kenneth L. Whiting 

1996 Larry J. Hostine 

1997 George A. Napper 

1998 Gordon L. Finbow 

1999 P. Raymond Borland 

2000 Donald L. Cosens 

2001 William C. Thompson 

2002 Donald A. Campbell 

2003 Carl M. Miller 

2004 John H. Hough 

2005 Ebrahim Washington 

* Demitted t Deceased 



263 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN 

Chips Editor Brian E. Bond, Campbellcroft 

Marketing Edmund V. Ralph, Don Mills 

Editorial Board Sheldon Kofsky, Jordan 

Educational and Program Planning . . Donald B. Kaufman, Kitchener 

W. J. Dunlop Award Robert S. Throop, Oshawa 

Finance Raymond D. Bush, Burlington 

Black Creek Masonic Heritage . . . Arnold McCausland, Mississauga 
Masonic Heritage Corporation Robert S. Throop, Oshawa 




^.^# 



REGIONAL LIAISON CHAIRMEN 

Western Ontario Districts 
Roger J. Gindon, 519-434-9030 - London 

Central Ontario Districts 

Glenn H. Gilpin, 705-466-2185 - Creemore 

Prince Edward / Frontenac / St. Lawrence 

Allen H. Hackett, 613-399-1744 - Consecon 

Ontario / Peterborough / Victoria 

Donald E. Schatz, 705-466-2185 - Bridgenorth 

Toronto Districts 

John P. McLaughlin, 416-282-3083 - Toronto 

Niagara / Hamilton Districts 

E. Warren Lay, 905-563-7609 - Beamsville 

Ottawa / Eastern Districts 

David R. Mackey, 613-836-1070 - Ottawa 

Northern Ontario Districts 

Alex Gray, 705-522-3398 - Sudbury 



264 



THE HERITAGE LODGE PROCEEDINGS - 2006 

THE HERITAGE LODGE OFFICERS - 2006 

Worshipful Master Victor V. Cormack 705-789-4187 

Huntsville, Ontario 

Immediate Past Master Ebrahim Washington 416-281-3464 

Scarborough, Ontario 

Senior Warden Peter F. Irwin 905-885-2018 

Port Hope, Ontario 

Junior Warden Michael Ikonomidis 905-668-9930 

Whitby, Ontario 

Chaplain Joseph A. Das 416-291-6444 

Toronto, Ontario 

Treasurer Thomas W. Hogeboom 613-354-3593 

Napanee, Ontario 

Secretary Samuel Forsythe 905-831-2076 

Pickering, Ontario 

Assistant Secretary . . . Kenneth E. Campbell 613-476-7382 

Milford, Ontario 

Senior Deacon Brian E. Bond 905-797-3266 

Campbellcroft, Ontario 

Junior Deacon Kenneth D. Fralick 905-666-3954 

Whitby, Ontario 

Director of Ceremonies John H. Hough 905-875-4433 

Milton, Ontario 

Inner Guard Louie J. Lombardi 905-637-3003 

Claremont, Ontario 

Senior Steward Charles H. Reid 416-742-7878 

Toronto, Ontario 

Junior Steward David C. Mahon 705-645-2460 

Bracebridge 

Organist Emeritus Donald E. Schatz 705-292-7414 

Bridgenorth, Ontario 

Organist Murray S. Black 416-481-3186 

Toronto, Ontario 

Historian Brian W. King 905-257-0449 

Oakville, Ontario 

Tyler David M. Sheen 519-941-8511 

Alton, Ontario 

Auditor Donald R. Thornton Kingston, Ontario 

Auditor William J. Finlay Kingston, Ontario 



265